Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

Reviews by MathBrush

15-30 minutes

View this member's profile

Show ratings only | both reviews and ratings
View this member's reviews by tag: 15-30 minutes 2-10 hours about 1 hour about 2 hours IF Comp 2015 Infocom less than 15 minutes more than 10 hours Spring Thing 2016
...or see all reviews by this member
1-10 of 169 | Next | Show All


A Broken Man, by Geoff Fortytwo
A revenge murder story like Taken, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This game is mid-length; it has you play as an assassin infiltrating a house to avenge their daughter's death.

I have to wonder if this is a troll game. It is over-the-top, and includes a random adult scene (in metaphor form), and involves toilets and superglue as weapons of death.

There were several bugs and the writing wasn't especially polished.

The Dream Self, by Florencia Minuzzi
A thoughtful game with use of graphic backgrounds/animations, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
I beta tested this game.

This is a unity/Ink game which takes place over several weeks in an apartment as the main character deals with life and with dreams.

Most of the choices are about how you interact with others and your view on life. The story is very malleable; your choices have strong effects on the outcome.

It turns out that the story is based on (and is an implementation of)(Spoiler - click to show)a personality test. Finding this out tied the whole game together for me. But I felt disconnected during the game, and I wish I had more idea of where my choices would take me.

Deshaun Steven's Ship Log, by Marie L. Vibbert

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
A sci-fi culture clash game in journal form, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This game is one that I changed my opinion of over time. When I first played it, I skimmed it quickly, and I sort of dismissed it. I liked the sentence-shortening puzzles, but the text was confusing.

After reading several good reviews over the course of the competition, I'll admit, I revised my opinion due to popular opinion. In this case, I went through, and re-examined the writing, and I realized that it was a good depiction of a character that I disliked, rather than dislikable writing about a bland character as I had initially assumed.

For me, this places the game in the same category as Savoir-Faire, which had a similar roguish protagonist.

This is a high quality game; I'm giving it 3 stars only because I didn't connect on an emotional level. I feel like others will enjoy it even more than I did.

Day of the Djinn, by paperyowl
A cheerful fantasy game with dark undertones, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This game strongly reminds me of Owlor's pony-based games, even though the game never says that the protagonists are ponies (or humans, for that matter).

Your sister has sent a curse at you, and you have to cancel it out somehow. This is a navigation-based Twine game, and you have an inventory of sorts (you can pick different birds to follow you, and so on).

This game was pretty enjoyable; I would give it 4 stars, but it has some glaring errors, like Twine 'if' errors that post big messages on pages that occur in every playthrough. If those were fixed up, I'd bump up the score.

The Cube in the Cavern, by Andrew Schultz
A fun little color-based mathematical puzzle, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This is one of my favorite Andrew Schultz games. It has you in a world where pseudoscience is real and real science is pseudoscience.

You play on a giant colored cube, and have to manipulate some transponders using a mood ring.

There's a second puzzle later that I did have trouble with, but overall, I liked the concept, and the game.

Bookmoss, by Devon Guinn
A trip through time at a magical library, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This game has you play as a father and daughter travelling to a real-life library (in Harvard, I think?)

You meet a goofy pair of twins that are mysterious and magical. And you discover a special moss that allows you to visit other times.

I felt like the game could have done more with the premise. But what's there is fun; I felt like I learned something interesting.

Behind the Door, by eejitlikeme
A short quest game in a magical house, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This short Quest game has you go into a mysterious house. In that house, you have to solve a few short puzzles and meet a stranger.

This game felt insubstantial to me; I wished for more: more puzzles, more backstory, more descriptions, more conversation.

This feels like the seed of a bigger and better game. I could see a 2.0 version of this game being very enjoyable.

Antiquest, by Anton Lastochkin
A funny short TADS game where you seek out a dozen or so endings, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
I beta tested this game.

This is a TADS game where you are on a spaceship, and anything you do (for long enough) results in a different wacky ending.

The author keeps you from meeting too many error messages; if you try to do something usually not allowed (like going down when you shouldn't) it justs adapts the game (like having you burrow through the metal). It even includes a battle-ship type game.

It made me laugh, it is pretty descriptive, but it's not polished in some sense that I have trouble grabbing hold of; and I felt confused without the hints.

8 Shoes on the Shelves, by Marc Duane
An odd mix of underimplementation and clever ideas, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This was a strange game. It has some great ideas: extricate yourself from a pile of rubble (which reminds me of an old comp game where you start in a pile of dead bodies and have to crawl out). You then explore a small underground complex with a Lovecraftian vibe.

But the game has a lot of implementation problems, leading to numerous judges missing out on big chunks of the game.

I didn't have too much trouble getting out of the pile, like some judges did, but I didn't even so the cabinets or the slicing machine.

Worth trying. I wish it were expanded.

A Walk In The Park, by Extra Mayonnaise
A literal walk in the park, with some teenager-ish issues and few goals, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This game is pretty aimless; you are on a bus that runs into something on the street, then you go around the park.

I think this part of what 'slice is life' is defined to be; there are no real goals. You can buy soda, talk to an old man, take Tylenol (which has very different effects than the Tylenol I'm used to. Unless it's Tylenol pm; maybe that makes more sense).

I found two different endings.


1-10 of 169 | Next | Show All