Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

Reviews by MathBrush

15-30 minutes

View this member's profile

Show ratings only | both reviews and ratings
View this member's reviews by tag: 10+ hours 15-30 minutes 2-10 hours about 1 hour about 2 hours IF Comp 2015 Infocom less than 15 minutes Spring Thing 2016
...or see all reviews by this member
1-10 of 96 | Next | Show All


Wrenlaw, by Ryan Veeder

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Moving and confusing, detailed and short. A memory game, July 22, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This is my final review for the Official Ryan Vedder Weekend Review Contest with guaranteed prize, giving me a score of 8 (due to having reviewed the other games earlier). Due to lack of publicity, the contest has been extended until Monday night at midnight Moscow time. Just post your Veeder reviews on ifdb (the Veedercomp games also count). 2nd and 3rd place winners get something too.

This game confused me at first; I didn't Get the mechanic that advances the game until my second playthrough.

You are in a park, looking for a geocache. There is a satisfying trash minigame.

I found it touching; if it is a parody, they say that parodies of extremism are indistinguishable from extremism, so the extreme schmalziness is something I enjoyed.

I love this game, but it was too hard to figure out how to progress (it's probably my fault for not reading the text after a major hint in my first playthrough, but oh well).

The Roscovian Palladium, by Ryan Veeder
A game about a tiny rat in a big world, with creepy museum things, July 22, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This review is part of the Official Ryan Veeder Weekend Review Exposium with Guaranteed Prize.

For some reason, when I saw this game, I didn't want to play it. Then many people reviewed it, and I still didn't want to play it. It seemed like it would be confusing with a lot of red herrings.

Then I tried it, and stopped, because I am overwhelmed by red herrings and use walkthroughs on every game.

Then I had to write a review for this exposium, and I played it. The writing is great. Unplugging the router was a joy in itself, despite its lack of gameplay effect. The juxtaposition of the wooden caterpillar with the other objects in its room frightened me (I think I thought it was on the bed?).

The combat was satisfying once I worked it out, and conversation was surprisingly good.

This is a good game, but it stressed me out due to my gaming style.

So, You've Never Played a Text Adventure Before, Huh?, by Ryan Veeder

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
A Robin and Orchid spinoff as a tutorial, July 22, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This review is part of the Official Ryan Veeder Weekend Review Communal Effort with Guaranteed Prize.

This is a spin-off of Robin and Orchid. You are investigating a haunted house, and fall down a hole.

The best part of the game is the demonstration of the three main methods of conversation.

The least best part of the game is the hinting. While it is generally good, there were times where the hints just kind of kicked out at important moments. The inexperienced adventurer that I was playing as got frustrated at not, for instance, knowing how to get through the door.

I enjoyed the ending considerably, though.

Someone Keeps Moving My Chair, by Ryan Veeder
A short game with well-implemented NPCs and a layered story., July 22, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This review is for The Official Ryan Veeder Weekend Review Tournament with Guaranteed Prize.

This game is a prequel to The Statue Got Me High, but you don't need to have played the latter game.

It contains classic elements of the Veeder mythos, such as red herrings, consumable food, actions that seem simple but maybe take a little longer to type than the other anticipated but you never know, and NPCs whose tone of voice is in direct contrast to the content of their conversations.

This game makes a 5 on my scale, but only barely. According to my criteria, it is polished (no bugs here), descriptive (why not?), has an emotional investment (I hated Edward), the interactivity is okay (I had to decompile it once, but I wanted to decompile it, so that's something), and I would play it again.

But it just scraped by in each category, so it might not be as good as a 4 star game that did great in one category.

The Case of LeAnne's Missing Bunny, Wendy, by Ryan Veeder

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
A briefly earnest parody of an earnest scary story about a bunny, July 21, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This review is part of the Official Ryan Veeder Weekend Review Competition with Guaranteed Prize.

In this game, entered in the Haunted House Jam, you play (in 3rd person) a (winsome) character named something with an SH that I forgot.

There is a small map, and a puzzle involving a stick (which was listed as a rope in the inventory) that failed to draw me in.

However, the quality of the writing was par, and the experience with the dark figure and the other experience with the empty bedroom were vaguely similar to experiences I've had. I would play it again.

Le butin du Capitaine Verdeterre, by Ryan Veeder

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Has substantially more French than the original, July 21, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This review is part of the Official Ryan Veeder Weekend Review Contest with Guaranteed Prize.

While I was alarmed by the 'vitesse alarmante' of the 'eau' entering my ship, I was able to escape towards 'la poupe'.

While the addition of extra French improved the game considerably, it had no effect on pre-existing French. I would have preferred seeing Capitaine Earthworm or some other variation thereof.

The Profile, by Mike Snyder
A chilling game that becomes an intriguing puzzle, July 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This game was quite creepy and icky at first, until I realized my true purpose.

This game is a play-and-replay game that was brilliantly coded in 3 hours or less, and provides more gameplay than most Ectocomop speed IF. Recommended. I can't say much more without spoiling it.

Ghosterington Night, by Wade Clarke
A little combat simulator running around a house grabbing poetry, July 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
In this game, you run around a 3x3 house filled with independent hostile NPCs who chase you. You need to evade or shoot them and find four treasures hidden in the house.

The randomized combat can be hard, but if you expect it coming in, it can be a lot of fun. I found 2 poems and ran, and I was satisfied with my ending.

Eclosion, by Buster Hudson
An intricate correct-sequence tiny horror puzzle, July 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This was a fun but frustrating little puzzle. You are a parasite in a human and you want to get out.

There are 7 steps to getting out, but you have to do them in exactly the correct order. Timing is essential. The game allows you to take several incorrect paths at first, so you can't just go through the options systematically, you have to read the failure text and respond.

I liked it.

King Arthur's Night Out, by Mikko Vuorinen
A small game about escaping your wife, July 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
You're King Arthur, and can't leave because Guinevere won't let you.

This is a short game, yet still frustrating. The many actions you have to do are hard to conceive of before doing them.

The author said on rec.arts.int-fiction that they wrote this game in 3 days, and it shows. It's not horrible, because the scope was small enough to allow for some polish, but it doesn't sparkle.


1-10 of 96 | Next | Show All