Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

Reviews by MathBrush

15-30 minutes

View this member's profile

Show ratings only | both reviews and ratings
View this member's reviews by tag: 10+ hours 15 to 30 minutes 15-30 minutes 2-10 hours about 1 hour about 2 hours IF Comp 2015 Infocom less than 15 minutes Spring Thing 2016
...or see all reviews by this member
1-10 of 129 | Next | Show All


Rox, by L. Ross Raszewski
A turn-based version of the arcade game Asteroids, September 14, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This game is a variant of the arcade game Asteroids. It has a backstory, and then has you flying through a two-dimensional grid, letting you change your direction and fire at will.

I liked it, but it was too fussy. I think I encountered a bug, too; going off the edge of the grid said I was getting sent back, but the truth was that it didn't send me back.

An entertaining concept.

Centipede, by J. Robinson Wheeler
An intense alien war game, September 14, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
I thought this IFArcade game was by Cadre, but i guess I was wrong. This is an intense alien war drama, copying numerous movies/books in that style (Aliens, Catch 22, Starship Troopers, etc.) It has violence and profanity.

It's based on the arcade game Centipede. You land in a swamp with several marines, and you are in a field of poisonous mushrooms with ticks, scorpions, and centipedes attacking you.

It's incredibly difficult to win.

Beythilda the Night Witch, by DCBSupafly
One of the better all-rhyming games; short Ectocomp story, September 14, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
Most games written in rhyme have terrible poetry. This one was pretty fun; its poetry is utilitarian but entertaining.

However, it can be pretty hard to guess some of the commands.

This is an Ectocomp speed-IF game about a witch defending herself from angry villagers and searching for a lost friend.

The Evil Chicken of Doom 3D, by Mel S
A fairly buggy Ectocomp adrift game about an evil chicken, September 14, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
I've heard rumors of the 3d in this game, but I have yet to find it. I haven't found anyone who's actually finished it. I was able to get to the end by the use of Adrift's Debugger.

It's a fairly amusing game, after a long text dump. You need to kill an evil chicken, but it's hard to find the right tool.

Parasites, by Marius Müller
Great small game for Ectocomp about brain-changing parasites, September 14, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This game has a great plot for a 3-hour ectocomp game.

You are one of the few remaining members of society after parasites from space have attacked everyone. At a SETI outpost, you try to survive with a friend.

The implementation was buggy, as could be expected from a Speed-IF game, but the writing and story were excellent; would make a good TV episode.

The Hunting Lodge, by Hulk Handsome
A 'hunt the wumpus'-type game in Twine, September 14, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
I actually played this game backwards on accident. There is a major event you're supposed to encounter early on in one of the first rooms, but that ended up being the last room I entered.

Most of this game is navigating a house while a mysterious being also does so. You have to avoid, destroy, and escape.

Over all, it was well done, but I never really got into it. The room descriptions were fairly amusing.

Bloodless on the Orient Express, by Hannes Schueller
Agatha Christie meets Dracula, September 14, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This game is similar to both Murder on the Orient Express and Dracula.

You awake from your coffin on a train to discover that a passenger has had their blood drained--and not by you.

This game has many of the usual speed-IF problems (undercluing and underimplementation), but it is in the top 10% of all speed-IF, and quite enjoyable.

Lost My Mind, by Xavid
A clever Twine maze based on a They Might Be Giants song, September 14, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This is a sort of word maze based on the lyrics of the nanobots album song Lost My Mind.

Every word leads to other words, going around in a cycle. There is a secret to solving the maze, but it's fairly complicated to finish it even if you know the secret; but if you keep trying, it should work out. I thought it was fun.

PTBAD 3, by Jonathan BERMAN
An intentionally poor surreal game, August 17, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This game, according to the author, was intended to come in exactly second to last place, which required (he said) surreal puzzles, misspellings, and a barely interactive NPC.

This may be tongue in cheek, but they have truly created a terrible game here. It is bad on many levels, including dumb implementation errors, undercluing, and misspellings. The author has truly succeeded at their goal.

LAIR of the CyberCow, by Conrad Cook (as Harry Wilson)
A goofy game about an evil cow... or is it?, August 15, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This is an ADRIFT game from 2008, and like most ADRIFT games (especially from that time), it has quite a few bugs.

It's not terrible; it has some fun moments as you wander around a bizarre, goofy landscape. But eventually, the bugs pile up and it gets too hard to play.


1-10 of 129 | Next | Show All