Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

Ratings and Reviews by MathBrush

View this member's profile

Show reviews only | ratings only
View this member's reviews by tag: 10+ hours 15-30 minutes 2-10 hours about 1 hour about 2 hours IF Comp 2015 Infocom less than 15 minutes Spring Thing 2016
1-10 of 1447 | Next | Show All


Lost in time, by Gerardo Adesso

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
An incredibly hard puzzle twine game with complicated inventory and riddles, November 19, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 2-10 hours
Some people really enjoy difficult puzzle games, like Fish! or Praser 5 or System's Twilight.

This is the first time I've seen such a game done well in Twine. It is very hard; it has been given a 'nasty' forgiveness rating by the author, and that is completely appropriate.

There are frequent deaths and ways to lock yourself out of victory, but there is a multi-save feature which helps.

The first part of the game is an escape the room puzzle. I thought it itself was one of the hardest twine puzzle I had seen, and I thought it was the whole game, and a longish one at that. Once I escaped, I realized the main game was much, much, much bigger. In fact, the next area was huge, and I thought that was the whole game, and then it opened up into the real game! And there's an epilogue about as long as the first complex.

I couldn't finish, even looking at the source code. This is unfair, difficult, and crazy, so if you're in the mood for something like that, you've found it.

A Broken Man, by Geoff Fortytwo
A revenge murder story like Taken, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This game is mid-length; it has you play as an assassin infiltrating a house to avenge their daughter's death.

I have to wonder if this is a troll game. It is over-the-top, and includes a random adult scene (in metaphor form), and involves toilets and superglue as weapons of death.

There were several bugs and the writing wasn't especially polished.

The Sisters, by revgiblet
A fairly good ghost story in Adrift with some bugs, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: about 1 hour
This story is actually pretty fun, given how little this is done in IF.

It's a traditional ghost/creepy story with an old abandoned house to search through.

It has numerous bugs, and a huge number of 'guess the verb' problems, but I was glad I played it and enjoyed it overall. I used the walkthrough.

Fetter's Grim, by Paul Allen Panks
A mishmash of DnD tropes with Christianity and roman history, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: about 1 hour
This has to be a troll game; Panks admitted before that some of his IFComp games are troll games (such as Ninja II). But if not...

You play as a weakened mythological god, except that that never gets mentioned after the first screen. You can find and kill Jesus. Most of the game is fighting DnD characters. There is a village with a tavern, like most Panks games.

It was interesting, but not his best offering.

Hedge, by Steven Richards
An ambitious puzzly club game with implementation issues, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: about 1 hour
This game attempts quite a bit. You are trying to get into a mysterious club. The game is full of puzzles and many, many red herrings.

There was obviously a lot of thought and effort put in, but it could have used more testing. Fun with a walkthrough.

The Dream Self, by Florencia Minuzzi
A thoughtful game with use of graphic backgrounds/animations, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
I beta tested this game.

This is a unity/Ink game which takes place over several weeks in an apartment as the main character deals with life and with dreams.

Most of the choices are about how you interact with others and your view on life. The story is very malleable; your choices have strong effects on the outcome.

It turns out that the story is based on (and is an implementation of)(Spoiler - click to show)a personality test. Finding this out tied the whole game together for me. But I felt disconnected during the game, and I wish I had more idea of where my choices would take me.

The Dragon Will Tell You Your Future Now, by Newsreparter
An exercise in futility, in Twine format, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
In 2006, Theo Koutz entered an IFComp game called Sisyphus, where you roll a stone up a hill and it rolls down again. It was a troll game that was smooth and polished.

This is essentially the same game, but with shiny new polish. You have to open some doors, but you can't. Replaying this, though, I found that I actually enjoyed the writing, perhaps more than any other game in the comp.

So this was pretty fun, despite the author's intentions.

Domestic Elementalism, by fireisnormal
Awesome transformation witch game, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: about 1 hour
I beta tested this game.

This game has a utilitarian interface, but don't let that fool you: this is a seriously great game.

Your magical witch house is broken, and you need to fix it. You have an inventory (even though it's web based), and you have the power to alter the elements of various inventory elements.

It has a cheerful backstory. Different items you carry interact with each other.

The various interactions are fiddly sometimes, and perhaps even unfair; but somehow everything gelled for me in a great way. Not everyone may feel the same.

Deshaun Steven's Ship Log, by Marie L. Vibbert
A sci-fi culture clash game in journal form, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This game is one that I changed my opinion of over time. When I first played it, I skimmed it quickly, and I sort of dismissed it. I liked the sentence-shortening puzzles, but the text was confusing.

After reading several good reviews over the course of the competition, I'll admit, I revised my opinion due to popular opinion. In this case, I went through, and re-examined the writing, and I realized that it was a good depiction of a character that I disliked, rather than dislikable writing about a bland character as I had initially assumed.

For me, this places the game in the same category as Savoir-Faire, which had a similar roguish protagonist.

This is a high quality game; I'm giving it 3 stars only because I didn't connect on an emotional level. I feel like others will enjoy it even more than I did.

Day of the Djinn, by paperyowl
A cheerful fantasy game with dark undertones, November 16, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This game strongly reminds me of Owlor's pony-based games, even though the game never says that the protagonists are ponies (or humans, for that matter).

Your sister has sent a curse at you, and you have to cancel it out somehow. This is a navigation-based Twine game, and you have an inventory of sorts (you can pick different birds to follow you, and so on).

This game was pretty enjoyable; I would give it 4 stars, but it has some glaring errors, like Twine 'if' errors that post big messages on pages that occur in every playthrough. If those were fixed up, I'd bump up the score.


1-10 of 1447 | Next | Show All