Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

Reviews by MathBrush

less than 15 minutes

View this member's profile

Show ratings only | both reviews and ratings
View this member's reviews by tag: 10+ hours 15-30 minutes 2-10 hours about 1 hour about 2 hours IF Comp 2015 Infocom less than 15 minutes Spring Thing 2016
...or see all reviews by this member
1-10 of 75 | Next | Show All


Hill of Souls, by Angela Shah
A creepy short game experimenting with text output, August 17, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This game (whose cover art was nominated for an XYZZY award for best supplemental materials) uses randomization to change the description of the area you are in (a one-room game), and every turn it clears the screen before printing the description.

I found it a bit confusing, and I had to look up the club floyd transcript to finish it, but it was a fun experiment.

The Tunnel, by Natalia Theodoridou
A slick, moody hyperlink game with sound and graphics on a train, August 15, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This is a SubQ magazine game that has a pleasing atmosphere. It has graphics and background noise.

You are on a train with your significant other. It's going through a long tunnel. There are a few other people on the train. It's a moody and introspective piece.

I could go into more detail, but playing the game does not take much longer than reading this review, so why not just try it?

Sensory Jam, by Andrew Plotkin
Better than it could have been, August 12, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This is just a demo game, but I found it amusing in a sort of way. It is clearly just set up to show off features of glulx.

There are images (including in-line) and sounds, both background and controllable. Hearing what I assume is Plotkin's voice going 'whoosh whoosh' at increasingly loud levels is enjoyable, as is switching around background colors around a photograph of his face.

I'd love to see someone remake it with backstory and more interactivity, but keeping everything that's already in it.

Best experienced downloaded.

Sigmund's Quest, by Gregor Holtz

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
A short graphical tech demo, August 1, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This is a short demo of a system not unlike Comazombie's MCA adventures or Robin Johnson's systems; however, this one is fairly incomplete.

You play Sigmund, from the Ring cycle of stories, and it's all filled with numerous graphics. Before the game really begins, though, it's all over.

A Wind Blown From Paradise, by N.C. Hunter Hayden
A short surreal game on a train with bugs, August 1, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This is a rather buggy surreal game set on a train.

It's hard to say much about it, because I get stuck on the second platform; whenever a train comes in, and I try to get on, the game says 'The train isn't here, idiot.', which is hardly encouraging.

In fact, the game in general is fairly insulting to the player (try typing YES repeatedely). I've decompiled it, but can't find much.

The Ship of Whimsy, by U. N. Owen
A small fantasy ship with three tasks, August 1, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This game has you explore a small ship full of fantasy creatures like faeries and goblins.

It has one oddly inappropriate part, but nothing else really in that nature.

By visiting the Faerie queen, you receive a variety of tasks, about 3 or 4 in total. Each is a simple fetch-type quest or single action.

The game ends fairly quickly.

Dead Hotel, by Comazombie
A supershort zombie horror game set in a creepy hotel, August 1, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This is the third comazombie game I've played; the first was a tiny demo with little plot. The second was mostly in German.

This one is a complete, though tiny, game. You are in a room in a hotel with some pretty good colors and styling. It's a multiple choice game using a simplified version of comazombie's previous systems.

It throws in some needless profanity at one point which doesn't really fit, most likely due to the speaker having English as a second language.

Project Delta, by Emilian Kowalewski
A short demo game of a multiple choice system, August 1, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
I found this system to actually be fairly impressive; you have multiple choice menus, but can check your inventory when you want to.

Unfortunately, this version is just a small demo, with little of the real action you might get in a full game.

Trap Cave, released the next year, had a larger game in the same system.

Ninja II, by Paul Allen Panks
Ninja, plus a dragon, August 1, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This game is just Ninja I with an extra dragon added.

I don't see how this could possibly not be satire of some sort, especially as Panks released much longer and more detailed games.

It did somehow make me like Ninja I a bit more though...

Craverly Heights, by Ryan Veeder
A short game with a twist and good source code, July 22, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This review is for the Official Ryan Veeder Weekend Review Salon with Guaranteed Prize.

This Ryan Veeder game had me very confused, and then pleased, then more confused; then I read the source code, nodded, and understood.

You play a doctor trying to help a sick patient named Pauline. You are in a small hospital that is very... unusual, to say the least, in its geography.

The lack of cluing got to me, though, and the strong branching made each playthrough less memorable.

But the twist was pleasant.


1-10 of 75 | Next | Show All