Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

Reviews by MathBrush

View this member's profile

Show ratings only | both reviews and ratings
View this member's reviews by tag: 10+ hours 15 to 30 minutes 15-30 minutes 2-10 hours about 1 hour about 2 hours IF Comp 2015 Infocom less than 15 minutes Spring Thing 2016
1-10 of 1319 | Next | Show All


Batman is Screaming, by Porpentine

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
One of Porpentine's earliest twine experiments, September 17, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This game was created in 2012, and uploaded recently by someone besides Porpentine. It was created at least as early as March of that year, since it's mentioned in an AdventureCow forum.

It is the shortest of the early experiments (which include Myriad and a few others). However, it contains a lot of Porpentine's signature style, including body transformation and horror, protagonists which evoke multiple emotions simultaneously, and surrealism.

This is not the kind of game I imagine Porpentine would release today, but it's interesting as a historical insight.

I Must Play, by Geoff Fortytwo
Reworkings of several old arcade games into IF, tied by a plot, September 14, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: about 1 hour
This game, similar to Sylenius Mysterium, has you entering an arcade at night and playing a variety of arcade games in IF form.

Some of the games work out really well (I like the way that Pong was presented). Others are just bizarre (what game corresponds to the politics scene?).

Overall, fun with a walkthrough.

A Paper Moon, by Andrew Krywaniuk
An origami-based 'fetch items for wizard' game, September 14, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: about 1 hour
This game is part of the incomprehensibly large subset of 'a wizard asks you to collect items' games.

It's also part of the 'parser likes to insult your character' genre.

It also begins with 'my lame apartment', including waking up with a hangover in just your underwear, which is also a surprisingly large genre.

However, it also lets you make about 15 different objects with origami, which is pretty cool.

Rox, by L. Ross Raszewski
A turn-based version of the arcade game Asteroids, September 14, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
This game is a variant of the arcade game Asteroids. It has a backstory, and then has you flying through a two-dimensional grid, letting you change your direction and fire at will.

I liked it, but it was too fussy. I think I encountered a bug, too; going off the edge of the grid said I was getting sent back, but the truth was that it didn't send me back.

An entertaining concept.

Centipede, by J. Robinson Wheeler
An intense alien war game, September 14, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
I thought this IFArcade game was by Cadre, but i guess I was wrong. This is an intense alien war drama, copying numerous movies/books in that style (Aliens, Catch 22, Starship Troopers, etc.) It has violence and profanity.

It's based on the arcade game Centipede. You land in a swamp with several marines, and you are in a field of poisonous mushrooms with ticks, scorpions, and centipedes attacking you.

It's incredibly difficult to win.

Donkey Kong, by Andrew Plotkin
A super short text story telling the background of Donkey Kong, September 14, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This game casts you as the main enemy in the original Donkey Kong game.

It paints you as a primeval sort of building, unfairly pitted against the mustachioed plumber

It has some fun non-standard responses, but overall, it's over quickly. I mostly like its unity of style.

Dig Dug, by Anonymous
A tasteless reworking of the classic arcade game, September 14, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
I was surprised by this game, because I played it in the downloaded Arcade pack, and didn't have a chance to see the tags or genre.

It's essentially just a tasteless reworking of the original game Dig Dug, written by someone with the mind of a 12 year old male who has heard about women but never actually spoken with one.

Night Driver, by David Dyte
An amusing text reworking of the classic arcade game, September 14, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
The original arcade game night driver had you barreling down a road, swerving left and right down an endless field of white pegs.

This game has a text version, where you can speed, brake, and turn each turn. The conceit, though, is that you're a dad, late at night, and your wife and kids are having an endless conversation with you as you drive. The game eventually ends in a strange way.

Identity, by Dave Bernazzani
A mid length sci fi game with complicated wiring puzzle, September 14, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: about 1 hour
This game has you wake up with amnesia in a space wreck.

Eventually, your world opens up a bit more, and you get to explore an alien world.

It's a fairly interesting game setup, but the story doesn't have much 'bite'. Concepts are introduced but then never explored.

It has a pretty complicated electrical wiring puzzle that requires experimentation at the end.

MC, by Stephen Granade
A short game about a random NPC in an unlabeled arcade game, September 14, 2017
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This game has you wandering around in a certain unlabeled arcade game (when it was first released in the IF arcade pack, it was even titled Unlabeled).

It's just a joke game; once you realize what's going on, it's over really quickly. But it's fun while it lasts.


1-10 of 1319 | Next | Show All