Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

Reviews by roboman

View this member's profile

Show ratings only | both reviews and ratings
1-8 of 8


Edith's Cats, by Roboman
Political nightmarish whatever, July 14, 2019
"CATastrophe

In this game you take the role of a political prisoner on the day of his release in an unlikely dystopian future set four years from now. This game does earn the credit of being the first game that I have deducted points for grammatical errors and typos...I think ever. I understand there is a three hour time limit, but reading this game felt like the equivalent of rubbing broken shards of glass into my eyes. I managed to get to Edith's home somehow, "talk" wasn't implemented, it was pretty obvious the direction the game wanted you to go so I tried about a dozen subtle commands, couldn't figure it out and thought to myself "it couldn't possibly be" [open the game up in developer] sure enough it was that...then some violence happens and more rubbing glass into my eyes. It wasn't the worst thing I ever played."

Billy Mays

Sorry for the typos and the grammar. But I have no time to correct them. On Monday I will be taken to psychiatry, and... who knows? :-( "Talk" will be never implemented. :-)

Dreamland, by Tatiana Statsenko (as eejitlikeme)
Are your dreams inconnection with your deeds?, November 1, 2018
First it was a bit hard to me to find out what is the task in this game. It's a rather short, and maybe a bit surreal interactive experience. The game not as hard as it seems. It counts in the game that what you did before you go to bed. There is 1 really task in the game: to choose the correct book in the library. The correct book always depends on our choices before sleeing. Brilliant! The writer's last year's entry was better, but it's also done. One of the best games in this Year. I give it a 5.

Behind the Door, by eejitlikeme
My type of game, October 23, 2018
This was my favourite from last year's IFComp. I don't know Quest engine, but it was a fusion of parser and CYOA games as i can observe it. The story wasn't too overcomplicated, I liked it very much. It was a bit surreal, but it's okay. The Alice allusion wasn't bad, made a familiar atmosphere. The character of old man with the chess might have a deeper meaning. The twisty ending made me amazed, it worthed to play the game. When judging IFComp i gave You a 10, now i give you a 5. :-) My advice is not complicate things at the future either, just keep up the good work!

The skinny one., by Annie Z.
a bit buggy, October 24, 2017
I think it would be a very good game in the style of DQ. But there are bugs at certain points, which made unplayable some branch of the game.

PA, by SB
Interesting story, but has annoying recursion, August 25, 2017
Maybe it's a Hungarian game, maybe the writer's English is better than mine, make better dialogues than me, the story is rather twisty and interesting. There are some sexual content in it. It' very ... hm, kind. Maybe the writer has some strange idea about sexuality. Anyway the protagonist is a genie, a creative person, similar to the Redeemer, his talent is creating or forming artificial inelligence, robots and androids. He had to save the World, but instead of this a strange recursion happens in the story, which made me to give it a score 4. That's all. If it will corrected in any later version, i would give it a 5.

HAIZARA, by Rani Baker
The best of Twiny Jam in my opinion, December 20, 2015
The game is an imitation of an electronic game in Twine environment. Our goal is altogether, to evade, or get over the monsters we meet. Now, when I think over nothing/nobody should be killed to play through the game. There is a well-inentioned skeleton, a killer spider, a wizard, a bat, and a fire demon. If we manage to survive all, we have the treasure of the castle, I think. The optional chooses usually: WALK, JUMP, or different local menus (usually connected to fight). (Spoiler - click to show)Ironically the only thing we should attack, the nothing (ATTACK NOTHING), and now I spoot the spoiler. The game is close-tounged enough, it made for a max. 300 words jam.

Don't Read the Comments, by Ashton Raze

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Blogging is hard, December 13, 2015
This game is about a philistine's struggling with internet. The scene is grotesque - he begins to blogging about curtain rails. Who writes a blog, maybe pay more attention to this, and yes the internet tropes with the absurd middle-class figure - get the reader's attention. It has two endings, so some level of interactivity can be observed yet in the game. I found the game in a collection and take it to my place, so it's playable again. I played it formerly, but now I come across it again.

Zombie Cow!, by Amber Rollins-Walker

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
You can't have that 130 points, May 24, 2015
In the game there is possibilities to collect more ponts, there is some stupid activity, that give you points, like "drink water", or "look at beetles". These activities counts 5-5 points. When you in the barn, type "leave barn", for 20 points. The reason why you can reach the 130, because at the end, each answer is 30 points, but just one you can choose.


1-8 of 8