Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

Ratings and Reviews by theqbasicwizard

View this member's profile

Show reviews only | ratings only
View this member's reviews by tag: awesome boring classic dallas dull entertaining game great inform madness of the minotaur not fun online quest adventure sherlock holmes snatches text adventures text gaming textadventures.co.uk the run the wedding theqbasicwizard tv show wedding whatnot wonderful yawn
Showing All | Show by Page


The Deed of the York, by Dwight Logan
theqbasicwizard's Rating:

Temple of Apshai (TRS-80 Version), by John Connelley, Jon Freeman and Jeff Johnson

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Not an IF, July 6, 2014
by theqbasicwizard (Leduc, Alberta)
Not an IF.

The Voodoo You Do, by Marshal Tenner Winter

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
A must play!, November 2, 2013
by theqbasicwizard (Leduc, Alberta)
A wonderfully written game that really puts you into the dark world of Voodoo. With every aspect of darkness that can be put into this game, it really creates a dark atmosphere. The writing is wonderful and though this game is a little on the short side. You will still be able to kill a few hours on this little gem scattered across a mining pit in a little unknown place known by only a few.

Rambo First Blood Part 2, by Unknown

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
I wonder why they made this game?, October 17, 2013
by theqbasicwizard (Leduc, Alberta)
Now I have been a fan of Angelsoft the same company that made The Mist. But why would they ever make a text adventure adaptation to Rambo First Blood Part 2? Don't get me wrong the game is good in a way. Now if you have recently watched the movie, you will not need any help from a guide or walk through. This game pretty much tightly follows the movie, so if you have just watched the film, then you will be in the clear. If not then watch the movie. I did have a major problem with this title and that was just like in The Mist, once you arrive at a certain point the enemy may it be a helicopter or a soldier may not always be there. From time to time I hid from a helicopter and or died and returning back to said point the enemy was no where to be found. Then moving a head there was the helicopter and blamo it killed me. Now I know what they were trying to go for and though it is quite neat at times, at others it is really annoying. Now when you play this game on DosBox you will discover that you can't save and thus traveling through the game will be frustrating at best after you're tenth time. This doesn't help with the fact that the supposed combat engine is on a randomized timer. But as an oddity this game is something that should be checked out by the community.

The Mist, by Angelsoft Inc

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
The Mist , October 16, 2013
by theqbasicwizard (Leduc, Alberta)
Now this game has to be one of the finest games created by the company Angelsoft, their other titles that comes to mind is Rambo First Blood Part 2. I will say that the descriptions and dialogue are quite interesting to the reader. The characters that you are supposed to interact with may not be where they are supposed to be, the same goes with the aliens or bugs. All and all, this game is a wonderful little game.

ASCII and the Argonauts, by J. Robinson Wheeler

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
A nice take on a old classic., October 16, 2013
by theqbasicwizard (Leduc, Alberta)
A game that has a nice mixture of mythology and humor. This game is a wonderful take on the story that a lot of us already know. The detail is so wonderfully described that this is a must play for anyone. I enjoyed the character description, the amount of detail put into each room, and the dialogue was quite funny.

The Miser, by Jack Lockerby

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
I recall playing this on a shareware disc., October 15, 2013
by theqbasicwizard (Leduc, Alberta)
Now this game has a special place in my heart. A small corner within my beating muscle that I know sounds odd and what not. But it is a wonderful holiday themed game. This is A Christmas Carol for the electric age and though this age has long since passed, I do enjoy playing these kinds of games. The games that were given out for all to play in demo's on the BBS's which for me is always a great little treat. This was a game that i recall spending hours upon hours playing and helped mold me into an IF player. A game that is taken from the pages of Dickens finest work, is something that should be rejoiced and shared among gamers today. This is a classic and should be put in a museum. Though it is basically written with a one maybe two word parser, it is still a gem that all should play. The version I played was a converted file from the days of the C64 and was ported to the PC.

Dragon Warrior Text Adventure, by Nintendo Power and Anna Anthropy

0 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
A Dragon to Remember., October 14, 2013
by theqbasicwizard (Leduc, Alberta)
For what it is, this game it actually quite nice. If you like the Nes game and love the year 1990 then give it a try.

The Hours, by Robert Patten
theqbasicwizard's Rating:

Door Simulator, by Giggling_Kiste
theqbasicwizard's Rating:

The Wedding, by Neil James Brown

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
From a man about to get married., October 5, 2013
by theqbasicwizard (Leduc, Alberta)
Related reviews: the wedding, wedding
It's only a few hours until I have to meet up with the wedding party on my big day. I played this game to pass the time and I must say it is a wonderful game. It did give me a few ideas of my own, but I kid. A wonderful game that should be played more often within the world of Text Adventure games.

Kicker, by Pippin Barr

0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
A wonderful and interesting game., September 30, 2013
by theqbasicwizard (Leduc, Alberta)
This has to be the most interesting game that I have played in a while. It reminds me of the days of playing Atari football on the 7800 as a kid and being really immersed in the game. I know that's not saying much but I haven't felt that way in a long time. This game proves that football can be a lot of fun especially in a text adventure.

The Intruder, by Shane Anderson

1 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
The Intruder, this game broke into my house and stole twelve seconds of my life., September 29, 2013
by theqbasicwizard (Leduc, Alberta)
The Intruder, is a pick your own adventure game, like we aren't tired of these kinds of games. I'd rather enjoy a book than play a game in this format. Though I shouldn't be to rough on it as it is quite short and will only prove itself as a game in which children can play and not feel afraid by the content ie Dark Seed. If you like your games short and very limited in a style that children from the early 80's would say is a lame style of entertainment then check this game out.

Snatches, by Gregory Weir

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
A wonderful dive into a dark world., September 28, 2013
by theqbasicwizard (Leduc, Alberta)
Related reviews: snatches, inform, classic, online, game
I have recently spent the better half of three and a half hours playing this game and I must say it is truly an amazing story. A game that immersed me into a dark world which I must say I wanted and begged for more. I couldn't stop playing and when I had to leave for the washroom found myself hooked like that of an addict. Never before was I hooked on an online text adventure and I highly recommend everyone should have a go on this remarkable piece of art.

The Casebook of Sherlock Holmes, by Michael W. Bayley, David Malmberg, and Jim Vickonoff

2 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
A wonderful venture into the Sherlock Holmes, September 22, 2013
by theqbasicwizard (Leduc, Alberta)
Related reviews: sherlock holmes, wonderful, entertaining, awesome
It has been a few years since I had played this wonderful game. I recall the autumn nights where I would play this game into the early hours of the dawn, with a can of cold beer. This game was quite a wonderful play and if anyone is a fan of Sherlock Holmes or the genre of graphical text adventure games should give it a go. You won't regret it. A perfect game for an autumn night when one is free from the chains of everyday life.

"The Run" Season 2, by lexxxx096

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
What can I say about this this so called game, September 22, 2013
by theqbasicwizard (Leduc, Alberta)
Related reviews: textadventures.co.uk, yawn, boring, dull, not fun
Without really having to read the supposed story I had finished the game and won within less than thirty seconds. Not worth a go by even the most biggest of zombie gaming fans. Don't waste any amount of time on this supposed game, you'd thank me later.

"The Run" Season 1, by lexxxx096

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Run of the mill, September 22, 2013
by theqbasicwizard (Leduc, Alberta)
Related reviews: the run, yawn, dull
Just the average, well below average run of the mill pick your own adventure game. I must say I did like the story but the way it is executed leaves one disappointed. I wish more time would have been put into it, maybe if it was an actual text adventure rather than a game that makes me feel like I am in the third grade reading Goosebumps.

Madness & the Minotaur, by Spectral Associates

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
An underrated classic, September 22, 2013
I know that there is a lot of hate on this game for its extremely difficult game play. I find it to be quite an enjoyable and that it is a must play for any text adventure gamers out in the world of gaming. It's a classic with large mazes, many wonderful enemies to do battle with, and the feeling of accomplishment that comes when you take on the Minotaur. The engine is well written and the sense of accomplishment is greatly high when you defeat the monster and beat the game. A must play for all.

Quest Adventure, by Kim W. Topley

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
An innovative game with a hint of awesome., September 22, 2013
by theqbasicwizard (Leduc, Alberta)
Related reviews: theqbasicwizard, text gaming, quest adventure
I remember playing this game on an emulator when I was a kid. I thought that it was quite well done. The five different paths that one can take with the character selection was quite innovative for it's time. I feel that this game would have been more of a staple in text adventure gaming if they would have also ported it onto DOS. But other then that this game is quite fun to play and I would have to put it on my top list of games to take with me if I was shipwrecked on a deserted island.

The Dallas Quest, by James Garon, Louella Lee Caraway, Phyllis Wapner
A made for computer game, September 20, 2013
by theqbasicwizard (Leduc, Alberta)
Related reviews: dallas, tv show, game, whatnot
When I first played this game I was only a kid, a kid that actually watched Dallas. Now, I know what you are thinking and I thought it wasn't that bad of a show. When I was roaming the internet one summer day unsupervised, I came across this game, and well being a fan of the show decided to give it a go. Well though it is based on Dallas the show, I have to say it was quite well for the time it was released. Putting aside that the puzzles are kind of dull and though when you complete the game you can shrug off everything and walk away from the computer as if nothing had happened. I still have to say that I did enjoy this game for what it was trying to do. If you are a fan of the series and like games such as this, I'd recommend giving it a try.


Showing All | Show by Page