Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

Reviews by IFforL2

View this member's profile

Show ratings only | both reviews and ratings
View this member's reviews by tag: Easy English Reading Level
1-10 of 17 | Next | Show All


中正恐慌 THE CCU HORROR, by Seth Silverstone

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
只對特定的觀眾上訴, February 20, 2017
by IFforL2 (East Asia)
這段恐怖視覺小說設在台灣的大學校園。寫作風格是還可以的, 有點陳詞濫調。有很長的無選擇的敘事,特別是在前面。後來一些選擇導致突然失敗,雖然可能把故事帶到兩個不同的結局。

This horror CYOA is set at a particular university campus in Taiwan. For this reason, it may appeal only to a very specific audience. The quality of writing is not bad, but unremarkable. There are long stretches of narrative without options, especially at the beginning. Later, there are a couple of binary choices, one leading to sudden death, and the other continuing the narrative. A few consequential choices do exist, and it is possible to find two different endings.

Forrajeo, by Incanus
Immediately entertaining and easy to pick up., February 10, 2017
by IFforL2 (East Asia)
Although this is not Incanus' most polished game, it was my personal favorite until I found the time to play Ofrenda a la Pincoya. It's also the one I'd recommend for Spanish language learners--The parser never misunderstood me and didn't expect me to go through extremely detailed procedures.

Aunque este juego no es el más finamente construido de las obras de Incanus, todavía era mi favorita, hasta que leí Ofrenda a la Pincoya. También este es el que recomendaria para los que están aprendiendo el Español.

The Poisoned Soup | 有毒之湯, by Steven Dong

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
More successful at puzzles than the average visual novel., February 9, 2017
by IFforL2 (East Asia)
Although I enjoy many works of interactive literature just as well as text adventure puzzlers, I observe that puzzles help language learners to read IF with more focus, care, and investment. Therefore, I find it unfortunate that few East Asian visual novels include puzzles. Those that do tend to limit themselves to instant death by wrong choice. The Poisoned Soup is a rare piece in that the fluently bilingual author is well-read in a variety of IF genres. These range from parser-based puzzle games, to parser-based literature, to choice-based (and basically linear) East Asian visual novels.(Spoiler - click to show) Steven Dong intentionally makes it difficult to select all the right choices in the first play-through. However, wrong choices don't usually lead to instant death without clear warnings. Rather, most wrong choices cause trauma to the PC. As I made progress in the game/work, Dong's method caused, in me at least, a sense of desperation and increasing cautiousness, as well as personal investment in the PC's lot.

I would have to say that this is currently my second favorite Mandarin game after 逃出去 | Escape.



A Friend to Light Your Way, by verityvirtue

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
verityvirtue at her best, January 18, 2017
by IFforL2 (East Asia)
This story includes a light puzzle and a bit of creepiness. What I really love about it is the spot-on cultural setting. Right at the start, you can choose between two very realistic and quintessential types of Asian daughters for the PC. As you enter the scene, every detail, from conversations to "rooms" genuinely feels like modern rural China or Taiwan. (Please forgive the comparison! It's not politically motivated!) The author could have kept this as a very well-written slice-of-life. But the puzzle and the creepy plot do a good job of gamifying it all.

A Dark Room, by Michael Townsend

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Google Translate is great!, January 17, 2017
by IFforL2 (East Asia)
Related reviews: Easy English
This minimalist idle game is available in lots and lots of languages. Not-so-unfortunately, after reading through the start of the Mandarin and Spanish versions, I must deduce that they were created using Google Translate. (I may be wrong, and I'd gladly eat a humble pie from Michael Townshend.) That's actually not so bad, as this game is one of a handful that make the most of a few short phrases. Julian Churchill's Tiny Text Adventure is another.

The Zen Garden, by Privateer

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Perfect Use of the Medium, January 16, 2017
by IFforL2 (East Asia)
One of the things I love about text adventures.co.uk is the unabashedly amateur nature of many of the pieces. But it is nice to see near perfect implementation, and this is one example. In my opinion, this game is as entertaining, sublime and meticulous as many of the IFComp winners that I've played. It is also one of those games you can continue to "play" away from the computer during an interminable meeting or while proctoring final exams.

No Quiero Verla, by Jeremy Spillane

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Potentially powerful, not perfectly implemented, January 16, 2017
by IFforL2 (East Asia)
This story explores the PC's thoughts and memories, rather than geography. Compared to other IFs of the same concept (e.g. verityvirtue's Staying Put), this is relatively under-implemented, which kept me mindful of the parser. (Spoiler - click to show)For an example, talk to Claire.The author clearly didn't want the reader to go in that direction, but a more natural response would have helped me stay immersed.

Aventura Pirata, by Mauricio Diaz Garcia

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Still hoping to get started., January 14, 2017
by IFforL2 (East Asia)
I was quite excited to stumble upon this game. I like having parallel texts available for language learners. Also, Scott Adams' games nearly always feature very short narrative segments and generally low-level vocabulary. For both reasons, this could potentially be a valuable resource for the language classroom. Unfortunately, I encountered bugs early on. It is impossible to "coger libros" to find the secret passage. I'd be happy to change my rating to four or five stars if such bugs are fixed. The translation is natural, not overly literal. The background and visual effects match the original game, creating (at least for me) a warm fuzzy nostalgia.

Li You's Secret Admirer, by Mrs. Pollard

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Very basic vocabulary, yet entertaining., January 12, 2017
by IFforL2 (East Asia)
The TPRS method/tradition in the L2 classroom gives students total freedom to further the narrative in response to the teacher's prompting. Mrs. Pollard may be familiar with TPRS, because every option prompt in this story allows the student/reader to move the story in a new direction. There are no dead-ends, and no loose ends. Vocabulary is limited to HSK level 1, meaning that a first-year student in an HSK standardised course would be able to read it.

Ajiaco, by Matthias Conrady, Carolina Arciniegas
Interactive, but not literature, fiction, or game, January 12, 2017
by IFforL2 (East Asia)
This bilingual point-and-click manual is a pretty cool cultural demonstration via the internet. It's not text-based, nor is it interactive fiction. But it would be a useful teaching tool in the Spanish language classroom both for its cultural demonstration and language options.


1-10 of 17 | Next | Show All