Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

Anchorhead

by Michael Gentry profile

Horror
1998

Web Site

Return to the game's main page

Reviews and Ratings

5 star:
(232)
4 star:
(60)
3 star:
(9)
2 star:
(8)
1 star:
(1)
Average Rating:
Number of Ratings: 310
Write a review


Previous | << 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 >> | Next | Show All


- akascully1, August 26, 2011

- Digibomber, August 22, 2011

- Ryan Veeder (Iowa), July 14, 2011

- calindreams (Birmingham, England), July 14, 2011

- Corwin71, July 9, 2011

- Nemansphere, June 29, 2011

- Xeinok (Cali/Osaka/Pattaya), June 9, 2011

- André St-Aubin (Laval, Québec), May 31, 2011

- Squidi, April 30, 2011

- Scott Hammack (Tallahassee, Florida), April 5, 2011

- Mason Saail (Northern California), March 28, 2011

- kyuzo (Pieris, Italy), March 19, 2011

- Felix Pleșoianu (Bucharest, Romania), March 18, 2011

- JohnW (Brno, Czech Republic), March 16, 2011

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
Just get to the part where I go insane already, March 9, 2011
by spinnerin (Portland, OR)
I really wanted to like this, because I’m a Lovecraft fan and it's highly rated on IFDB. Alas, I had multiple “throw the book across the room” moments within the first hour. The game map is wide open at the start, so if you’re not clear on what it expects you to do, you can wander off and completely screw up your ability to continue.

On round 2 (after restarting), I wandered until I found the PC’s husband, attempted to talk to him to figure out what I should be doing, and wound up so frustrated I wanted to punch him (the game insisted that was out of character). The parser interaction is not very polished--I kept having to try different approaches for what seemed like basic actions.

Eventually I consulted the walkthrough, which told me my first move was to do something that seemed entirely out of character for someone who is dressed in “a tasteful ensemble from Ann Taylor”. So I yelled at the game for a few more minutes, then quit.

- frocutio (Irvine, CA), February 22, 2011

- dryman, February 4, 2011

- artao (SW Wisconsin), February 2, 2011

- NoiselessPenguin (London, UK), January 27, 2011

- diddlescatter (US), January 13, 2011

- flap, January 5, 2011

- Callust (Michigan), January 2, 2011

- darcycarmela (Bethel, Connecticut), December 11, 2010

6 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
Anchorhead - a great game but a pain in the butt, December 11, 2010
by pcb2x
Related reviews: Anchorhead
This is a game that does get one involved. Puzzles are in general easy to medium hard and the writing is engrossing. But the end left me greatly annoyed. Apparently I was supposed to find something halfway through the game (I finally broke down and read the solution to find out what I had missed). But in the beginning I looked and it wasn't there and near the end I looked again and it wasn't there. Apparently only if you looked at a particular time did the required object show up. So I fought my way through to the end only to be completely stopped.
This is a long game and I'll damned if I am going to go back and repeat half the steps again. So I never finished and that's a shame.

- Narcisse, November 26, 2010


Previous | << 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 >> | Next | Show All | Return to game's main page