Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

Lost Pig

by Admiral Jota profile

Fantasy, Humor
2007

Web Site

Return to the game's main page

Reviews and Ratings

5 star:
(216)
4 star:
(135)
3 star:
(25)
2 star:
(0)
1 star:
(2)
Average Rating:
Number of Ratings: 379
Write a review


Showing All | Show by Page


- Steffan LW Sitka (Los Angeles), February 28, 2019

- lcs70, February 19, 2019

- PCBToxin (Jacksonville, FL), February 18, 2019

- Swoopy, February 5, 2019

- Princessthe1st (USA), January 23, 2019

- seltzer, January 16, 2019

- Superfreq (Southern Gulf Islands, British Columbia, Canada), December 23, 2018

- Bartlebooth, December 7, 2018

- anarchaferromagnetism, November 26, 2018

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Favorite, November 20, 2018
by Indigo (Maine)
Really spoils you with the amount of things you can do. I loved the EXPANSIVE dialogue options you can have. Enjoyed a few sentimental moments too.

- davidar, November 10, 2018

- kevan, October 12, 2018

- Joey Jones (UK), September 15, 2018

- NaturalSound, September 5, 2018

- Accatitippi (Italy), August 27, 2018

- e.peach, August 2, 2018

- imollo, August 1, 2018

- yaronra, July 16, 2018

- gatebuildr, July 3, 2018

- comfortcastle (Sheffield, UK), July 1, 2018

- Seth Fisher (Texas), June 27, 2018

- Sungorus, June 20, 2018

- ikkinlala, June 15, 2018

- play_all_day, June 11, 2018

- calindreams (Birmingham, England), April 13, 2018

- Stas, March 26, 2018

- fredfredfred, February 9, 2018

- Shchekotiki, February 5, 2018

- eme, January 23, 2018

- mjw1007, January 15, 2018

- 1PainfulPocket, January 9, 2018

- tylermac92, January 9, 2018

- Naeemah, December 23, 2017

- Prosilire (New York City), December 3, 2017

- stet, November 21, 2017

- ArchDelacy, November 2, 2017

- beriaearwen, October 11, 2017

- hollowaytape, October 6, 2017

- Yaktaur, September 21, 2017

- Zed (Berkeley, CA), August 7, 2017

- Wanderlust, August 3, 2017

- doodlelogic, July 19, 2017

- gilhova, July 18, 2017

- jamesb (Lexington, Kentucky), July 15, 2017

- dixonjd, July 13, 2017

- Arkaedi, July 6, 2017

- mapped, July 3, 2017

- Denk, June 7, 2017

- Laney Berry, May 15, 2017

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Fun game!, April 27, 2017
short and moderately difficult. Funny

- shornet (Bucharest), April 25, 2017

- NoiselessPenguin (London, UK), April 23, 2017

- Meka (Chicagoland, Illinois), April 21, 2017

- ifMUD_Olly (Montana, USA), April 21, 2017

- enigmity, March 21, 2017

- pox, March 18, 2017

- Spike, March 6, 2017

- Audiart (Davis, CA), February 17, 2017

- Greg Frost (Seattle, Washington), February 11, 2017

- RoboDragonn, February 3, 2017

- ikdc, January 31, 2017

- TheAncientOne, January 28, 2017

- magicnumber, January 9, 2017

- EngineerWolf (India), December 22, 2016

- Christopher Hall (London, Great Britain), December 8, 2016

- Azul, November 24, 2016

- Dhary, October 26, 2016

- jenzwick, October 6, 2016

- chairbender, September 22, 2016

- JcmMike, September 20, 2016

- Xavid, May 10, 2016

- CMG (NYC), May 7, 2016

- jrc (Stockholm, Sweden), April 30, 2016

- missjith, April 24, 2016

- Matt Bates, March 28, 2016

- iwk, March 5, 2016

- E. W. B., February 23, 2016

- primal, February 11, 2016

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
A silly but deep game. Humorous, but wears thin on replay, February 3, 2016
I played Lost Pig five years ago when I started playing interactive fiction. I remember thinking that it was a wonderful, wonderful game. I loved the humor of the PC, the silly idea of chasing the pig, the contrast of me with the gnome, and the interesting color puzzles.

However, whenever I go to revisit it, I quickly lose interest. The puzzles were fun the first time, but I find little replay value in the game. If you strip away the narrative voice, the puzzles are only slightly above average.

I recommend this game for everyone to play through once, though. The gnome NPC is brilliant. The color puzzle is fun.

Overall, I found To Hell in a Hamper funnier, and the Rogue of the Multiverse. I think this is a great game, but I wouldn't call it the best of all time, as some have.

- Teaspoon, January 29, 2016

- IFforL2 (East Asia), January 29, 2016

- Guenni (At home), January 24, 2016

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Highly enjoyable and entertaining, January 6, 2016
I played this game as an IF novice and found it to be a great introduction to the (modern version) of the genre.

The game focuses on its puzzles, but there is enough plot to keep it interesting. The use of humour is the game's greatest strength, making the characters memorable and the playthrough feel worthwhile.

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Grunk as a beginner IF player, January 3, 2016
by namekuseijin (anywhere but home)
I believe Lost Pig is the ultimate IF for beginners. When you're new to it, you could care less for story, setting, good prose or well rounded characters: all of that takes second place to just poking around and reading the fun responses to your inconsequential actions, even as senseless and puerile actions such as taking the moon. IF Beginners love to act like a dumbass of sorts and Grunk indeed is a spot-on character depicting just that level of caveman thinking intelligent people seem to resort to when first confronted with IF. As satire, Lost Pig works great. As a game, it's a highly polished short title, a zanny first foray into IF.

Some think it helps draw people into IF and kind of glorify it. I don't think the kind of people who immenselly enjoyed all of its well implemented whackyness around a simple goal would be willing to play a more serious IF title where you're required to behave and think as the protagonist would and, thus, being told that most of your senseless actions don't work as that first title promised. Thus, the one IF marvel for short-attention-span people who'll never come back for more.

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Brilliant, December 28, 2015
I have never played an IF that made me laugh and cry at the same time. The difficulty getting the pig tempered by the hilarious commands that kept me playing this game. I have never found an IF I have found more entertaining that Admiral Jota's Lost Pig.


- gaite, December 19, 2015

- Aryore, December 13, 2015

- insufficient data, December 8, 2015

- paulmr, November 9, 2015

- bignose (Melbourne, Victoria, Australia), November 7, 2015

- mixscarlet, October 14, 2015

- KingofSushi, October 12, 2015

- CHEESEROBOT, August 27, 2015

- Ivanr, August 25, 2015

- felicitations, August 14, 2015

- Harry Coburn (Atlanta, GA), August 14, 2015

- arnoud999, August 11, 2015

- veronica, August 9, 2015

- leanbh, July 30, 2015

- Khalisar (Italy), July 29, 2015

- Julia Myer (USA), July 10, 2015

- Thrax, July 7, 2015

- Pegbiter (Malmö, Sweden), June 15, 2015

- Pope of Gainz, June 3, 2015

- chux, May 19, 2015

Cute Game, April 16, 2015

A small map with deceptively simple puzzles! Just right on the difficulty scale.

- guinevak, April 13, 2015

- Doug Orleans (Somerville, MA, USA), March 19, 2015

- Keiya, March 15, 2015

- cabalia (Ohio), March 3, 2015

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent tightly constructed IF, February 25, 2015
by Frank (Salford, England)
Related reviews: XYZZY Comp 2007. Humour. Adventure.
The writer makes excellent use of the game's relatively small world. Questioning the gnome is a joy, and the game accepts a wide variety of responses to encourage experimentation. The pig and Grunk are also well implemented. Furthermore, subtle narrative clues cleverly aid the player. Highly recommended.

- Matt W (San Diego, CA), February 23, 2015

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Simple, Short and Spectacular, February 18, 2015
I really liked this game. There's only three characters but even the speechless pig was interesting to me. There's only a few rooms but almost all of them are still clear in my head months after I finished the game. The puzzles mostly made sense and the only times I had to go to a walkthrough was because I overlooked something. It's earned the praise it receives.

- Katastrophy9 (The Intranets), February 15, 2015

- hoopla, February 12, 2015

- NikkiT, February 2, 2015

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Interesting characters, sensible puzzles, and just fun to play, January 28, 2015
by besmaller (Portland, OR)
I've played a lot of interactive fiction, and Lost Pig stands out, because it was really fun to play from start to finish. The interactions with the pig and other characters in the game are enjoyable. The descriptions, written from the perspective of your curious, observant, but not-so-literate character, are quite funny. I felt myself sink into the character I was playing very easily. The puzzles were interesting, and made sense. This is a really well designed game.

One puzzle near the end gave me a little trouble, and I was appreciative of a built-in hint system which, invisi-clues style, would only give you as much help as you needed.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
An orc and a pig, January 19, 2015
This short game was deservedly lauded on its appearance. Lost Pig seems to start off as a concept piece: Grunk is an orc and communicates as such. But as it progresses, it becomes more than this. Grunk starts to function as a Candide-like observer of a small and seemingly static world: the distance induced by his vocabulary eventually vanishes and the player ends up identifying with Grunk. This is an impressive feat.

It can only work because the game as a whole has an internal structure that is unusually coherent and whose logic meshes with Grunk's ability. The NPC is a gem: quite different from Grunk, but complementary. By the end, the player is urging both NPC and Grunk on as they bring the game to a conclusion.

There have been discussions about the place of Lost Pig in the pantheon of contemporary IF. Without entering that debate, I would argue that Grunk is (written as) one of the most memorable IF characters, one who is transparent and who ends up being, in his own small way, a hero. The pig is a tremendous character, too.

- morlock, January 14, 2015

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Really fun! You get to burn pants.... :D..., December 30, 2014
by Chai Hai (Kansas City KS)
The people who came before me gave this game its praise, but I just HAD to comment on the burning pants. That really had me laughing. The imagery.... Thanks for giving me a laugh! ^_^

- Sean Callahan, December 29, 2014

Non-Stop Laughs!, December 27, 2014

by rfopsh
Related reviews: Pig, Find, Funny, Humor, Gronk, Gnome, Science, Alchemy, Farm, Orc,
I loved this game. It had me laughing all the way through and the puzzles were tricky but not impossible to solve. I enjoyed how much effort the maker put into the extra conversations and commands you can use that don't necessary further your progress but give the game color. The only thing I didn't like was how hard it was to get all the points, but maybe just because I'm too impatient to play a second time. Overall, amazing!

- BlitzWithGuns, December 3, 2014

Me enjoy playing Lost Pig, November 5, 2014

As a new player of Interactive Fiction me like exploring the world of Lost Pig with Grunk and his pig. Me get confused a few times, and needed hint. Me finish game and smile. Me recommend Grunk to others.

- Catalina, October 29, 2014

- dustybits, October 28, 2014

- Witchy W, October 20, 2014

- Sobol (Russia), September 12, 2014

- nosferatu, August 26, 2014

- M. Tea, August 21, 2014

- Egas, August 16, 2014

- Pinkeye (The Czech Republic), July 21, 2014

- blue/green, July 15, 2014

- Simon Deimel (Germany), July 6, 2014

- Sig (Olalla, WA, US), May 17, 2014

- Lotus Watcher, May 14, 2014

- Miron (Berlin, Germany), April 18, 2014

- Taffer, April 8, 2014

- kris, April 4, 2014

- Jason McIntosh (Boston), March 11, 2014

- KimNJ, March 10, 2014

- favonia, March 9, 2014

- Snave, March 7, 2014

- trystero, February 13, 2014

- 10CallClear, February 10, 2014

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
An excellent IF Haiku, January 30, 2014
by scottmbruner (alameda, california)
Lost Pig is perfect in its execution of a light puzzler through the eyes of a character who seems perfectly real despite being a fantastic beast in a world which seems intriguing despite the small glimpse we're provided.

Honestly, after I'd played, I wondered why it received such high praise - neither its gameplay nor narrative ambitions are particularly high - but after reflecting on the experience, I began to truly respect the perfection of its implementation. Funny without being corny, challenging without being obtuse, and finally, subtly moving without overburdened pretensions.

Good stuff, though I docked it a star because I did, in the end, want more...(and I wanted so badly to wear the thought-augmenting hat which sadly never appeared.)

- Pawndawan, January 26, 2014

- ThatFedoraGuy (Indiana, USA), January 25, 2014

- francisthe3rd (Horseheads, NY), January 23, 2014

- KidRisky (Connecticut, USA), December 19, 2013

- John Simon (London), October 31, 2013

- grainne6, October 25, 2013

- Mostly Useless (Leicester, UK), September 26, 2013

Onion A. V. Club

While the game is short, and a few of the puzzles rely on conveniently magical explanations, Lost Pig makes a hilarious case for why text still matters.

You wrote this review - Revise it | Add a comment

Wyrmis.com

Well crafted, not too long, requires pleasantly clever choices, and written strongly through to the end. Excellent IF title. Going up there as one of my favorites.

You wrote this review - Revise it | Add a comment

Jörgs Wort[be]reich
Rezension zum IF-Comp 2007 (German)
Du bist ein Ork auf der Suche nach einem Schwein, das deinem Chef gehört und stiften gegangen ist. Dies führt dich des nächtens in den Wald, und bald darauf findest du dich in der unterirdischen Behausung eines alchimistisch interessierten Gnoms wieder. Die Sau hast du damit aber noch nicht im Sack...

Der Erzählstil bedient sich des grammatikalischen Verständnisses unseres Hauptdarstellers -- Grunk. Das hört sich anstrengend an, wurde aber so liebevoll und geschickt umgesetzt, daß es tatsächlich schon den ersten Humorbonus dafür gibt. Sämtliche Standardantworten scheinen ebenfalls daraufhin angepaßt worden zu sein, was von großer Gründlichkeit seitens des Autors zeugt. ...

You wrote this review - Revise it | Add a comment

- Adam Myers, September 19, 2013

- Artran (Prague, Czech Republic), September 3, 2013

- Indigo9182, August 13, 2013

- Enrique, July 31, 2013

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Charming, enjoyable and a nice break., July 2, 2013
I really enjoyed playing this- It's difficult not to love grunk. The humour is pleasant and the puzzles are quite quirky. It's a nice break from those longer, tougher IFs and a breath of fresh air.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Me love this game!, June 21, 2013
by stadtgorilla (Munich, Germany)
There's really not much to say about this game that hasn't already been said before. It has been featured in countless best-of-lists and lists with games that are accessible for beginners, it's almost legendary, and rightly so. I finally managed to finish the game on my iPhone, this is what I can say:

Grunk is hilarious. There's hardly a command absurd enough not to be greeted with a funny response from this memorable PC. It's worth playing the game for this alone. The implementation is deep. The NPCs are believable, loveable and crafted with a nice bit of character. The puzzles are logical and clued well, and, despite the small map, exploring is fun, as we're playing a loveable dunce manipulating magical artifacts. And despite all zaniness, the exchange between Grunk and the gnome is memorable in several ways. A true classic noone should miss.

- softestbullet, June 19, 2013

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Pig maybe smart, but Grunk catch pig. So that mean Grunk more smart, June 6, 2013
by Jim Kaplan (Jim Kaplan has a room called the location. The location of Jim Kaplan is variable.)
Related reviews: admiral jota, humor
Play it if: you want simple, accessible puzzles and a short, sweet family-friendly game that's big on humor and character interaction.

Don't play it if: you're in the mood for something long, challenging, or particularly serious.

It's difficult to say something particularly new about a game like this. With its small scope and broad appeal, a lot of the obvious things have been already stated. But I'll go ahead and try to unpick what I like about this game anyway.

The appeal of Lost Pig all about its main character. Grunk is ostensibly the narrator of this tale, so his attitudes towards things colors the player's entire experience. I find Grunk's fairly simplistic descriptions of things interesting because they are reflective of the archetypal IF player's experience. Like Grunk, we put ourselves into a situation where we're confronted with machines and mechanisms we don't really understand, and we're made to figure out how to use them for our purposes. Grunk describes the world with the naivete of a child, and more importantly the naivete of a first-time player. And like the player, Grunk overcomes that naivete with cunning and shrewdness. Sure, he's not great with auxiliary verbs, tenses, or writing, but he does figure out all the steps needed to get the pig back. And with the addition of the gnome, Grunk can even display a fairly deep level of curiosity by learning about advanced principles of chemistry.

So Grunk's traits are those most IF players wish to cultivate in themselves: intelligence (in solving puzzles) and curiosity (in talking with the gnome).

Add to this his sense of humor. I've always held a soft spot in my heart for those throwaway pieces of coding, like Zork's patronising response to jumping for no reason ("Wheee!" "Very good. Now you can go to the second grade"). Little bits that added some personality to the game world and gently steered you away from the game's inability to let you do absolutely everything. Lost Pig almost feels like a game that's composed of that stuff. A lot of the joy in the game comes from having Grunk try stupid or outrageous things just to see his responses. And because the game is so thorough in implementing the things Grunk can try or do, it gets you to sympathize with him even more. Grunk lets the player act out the more childlike side of their sense of humor, because his willingness to try anything mirror's the player's willingness to make him do anything. Take the act of Grunk taking off his pants in front of the gnome. By itself, it's not particularly funny. But the fact that we're complicit in that act does make it funny. While playing this game, I found myself laughing at stuff I haven't been able to laugh at since the fourth grade.

That may not sound like a compliment per se, and I suppose it isn't if you're looking for something a little more literary. But I think the point that this game has constructed a uniquely sympathetic and charming main character stands.

So what about the secondary aspects of the game? Well, there are no obvious holes in the implementation of the setting. The gnome and pig are lovely characters in and of themselves - the pig for his variety of emotions and reactions (including intellectual disdain for Grunk!), and the gnome for the breadth (if not depth) of conversation you can achieve with him. I liked immensely the fact that the gnome is not immediately hostile towards Grunk - I mean, Grunk could realistically eat the guy - nor is he dismissive towards this comparatively dim and uneducated protagonist. Rather, he's willing to talk in basic terms about most any topic Grunk can think of and a few more besides that. For that he becomes a likable character and his relationship with Grunk, small in scope as it is, compelling.

The puzzles are few and simple, but they rely on intuition rather than method (intentionally so, as the maze demonstrates) and so they give you the pleasure of experiencing those little "eureka" moments every puzzle designer strives to cultivate in a player.

If I had something I'd change about this game, it would simply be the length. The core magical mechanism feels productive for more diverse and complex puzzles than what Lost Pig gives us, and even putting that aside I would have loved to have seen a game where the rather simple initial quest gets this young orc embroiled in something a lot bigger. Failing that, I think Grunk is easily a rich enough character for future adventures.

But that quibble aside, Lost Pig really is a gloriously fun and engrossing way to spend an hour or two.

Family friendly and heartwarming, May 26, 2013
by Andromache (Hawaii)
This was a fairly easy game in which things worked realistically and smoothly. The pig was incredibly frustrating and I was stuck on how to catch it - not because the solution eluded me but because I'd missed a step. I eventually figured it out by myself with some experimentation. And that's a lot of how to get the answers. Playing with things, seeing how they work, and figuring out how to execute the obvious solutions. Thankfully, everything's well-clued. I got the full score on the first try, and I was pleased to see good behavior rewarded. I did use hints, but not for solutions. Just helpful nudges.

(Spoiler - click to show)I really liked the gnome. I didn't stay to chat about everything, but he was kind and made me smile with some of his comments. His speech is very polished and intelligent, so I was thinking at some parts that Grunk would not understand what he was saying, but I appreciated that the gnome didn't try to dumb down his words. It said something about the gnome's character to treat the clearly less academic Grunk as an equal. Some of the narration was funny, too. One of the ones I still remember is when you "x leaf" at the tunnel entrance. Grunk reasons the carving must be part of the stone because it's made of stone and vines are "made of vine." LOL Grunk's description of the pig is funny, too. "Tasty" is right.

I don't tend to make characters do crazy things, so my play of the game was fairly somber and straightforward. But with amusing and likable characters, fun toys to play with, and a lighthearted atmosphere, this is a wonderful story to lose oneself in for a little while. Highly recommend, and I think would be pretty easy for beginners because of the hints.

- Kuffen Bach (Brno), May 7, 2013

- nf, April 21, 2013

- DAzebras, April 18, 2013

- Beable, April 18, 2013

- Shadow Fox (Texas), April 17, 2013

- Floating Info, April 3, 2013

- Brown_Cow, March 10, 2013

- Edward Lacey (Oxford, England), March 8, 2013

- ptkw, February 28, 2013

- deathbytroggles, February 6, 2013

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Pigs in Zen, January 21, 2013
by ifailedit (arkansas)
With an average rating of 4.5 stars and 113 5-star ratings total, Admiral Jota's "Lost Pig" is uncontroversially well-loved, even in the wider world beyond the IFDB, garnering praise from sources such as the Onion AV Club (4 Stars). There is, without a doubt, a lot to like about it. The narrator is funny, likable, and maintains a consistent voice throughout the piece. It's hard not to love the guy, really, and the fact that he is an Orc (we all remember those nasty things from Lord of the Rings) is amusing instead of alienating. The unambiguous objective of the game itself and its porcine antagonist afford, hilariously, an even match of wits. Even better, the puzzles are logical, fair, and imaginative--the (Spoiler - click to show)"dehydrated fire" in particular is a fun and satisfying thing to fiddle with. The only *humanoid* NPC, in terms of available topics and dialogue, is an embarrassment of riches. In fact, given this unusual characteristic, one may be surprised at feelings of overkill.

"Lost Pig" is a very tightly implemented, richly imagined piece of IF with a satisfying level of difficulty (good luck with that last point). If, somehow, you haven't played it yet (it seems so many of us have), you are in for a treat.

However, and there is a however, I wonder if I am the only one who wonders at its current (as of 2011) position of #2 in the "Interactive Fiction Top 50 of all time." From this lofty perch, "Lost Pig" gazes down upon "A Mind Forever Voyaging," "Anchorhead," "Slouching Towards Bedlam," and other notable classics. "Lost Pig" is consistently delightful, absolutely, and is a classic in its own right, but it does not haunt me, nor does it challenge my assumptions about art and my relationship to it. It does what it does very well, but it does not do those things. Speaking only for myself, it is a game, a very great game, but it does not completely fulfill the artistic promise of IF. This is by no means a failure, since the work makes no apparent efforts to do so. I realize that one never completely agrees with such lists, but a #2 position, or even a top ten position, seems to say something about the merits of IF as an art form with which I cannot agree.

This analogy may not work, but, if the "Best..." list were The Beatles' "White Album," I would express it thus: I like to listen to "Rocky Raccoon" as much as the next guy, but it's hardly "Happiness is a Warm Gun."

Like a good children's story, "Lost Pig" is a hoot for children and grown-ups as well. Enjoy.

- Cosbino, January 18, 2013

- Fantacide (California), December 31, 2012

- Yggdrasil, December 28, 2012

- Lingling (Perth, WA), November 20, 2012

- Steven Watson (UK), November 6, 2012

- Puddin Tame (Queens, NY), October 27, 2012

- heatherb (United States), October 24, 2012

- platy, September 9, 2012

- Lubulos, September 9, 2012

- Juleske, September 3, 2012

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Impressed by the work behind the game, August 31, 2012
by Dida
I've given this game 3 stars because I didn't enjoy it as much as I hoped I would.

I was very impressed with the attention to detail and the level of implementation. This is good if you like messing about in your IF and hate unpolished responses that don't make sense. I noticed the NPCs struck a good balance between reacting to the player and living their own lives. I respect the work that goes into creating something like that.

Unfortunately, I lost interest in the puzzles quite rapidly. I felt they left me a bit too clueless a bit too early on in the game. Earning just one point per solved puzzle only served to alienate me further. I suspect that the puzzles work well for experienced IF/Zork players who are accustomed to trying more obscure commands, knowing they might do something useful. They are probably more hungry for unusual thinking, too, having seen most tricks played before. Not the best for beginners, though.

- Jordan Magnuson (Corvallis, Oregon), August 26, 2012

- lastplaneout (Boone, NC), August 11, 2012

- Binderman, August 1, 2012

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
MUST PLAY GAME!, July 28, 2012
by Coldfinger (Germany)
After being abstinent from IF for over 20 years, this game was the perfect starter to get into the IF way of thinking again. And also the perfect game to get me addicted again. Not too large, nice puzzles, great use of language, sensible parser and good humor.

But now no time anymore. Must play next game. Where next Grunk game????

- Destarex (Colorado), July 7, 2012

- Karl Ove Hufthammer (Bergen, Norway), July 3, 2012

- kala (Finland), May 25, 2012

- zylla, May 2, 2012

- CharlietheSpiffy, May 1, 2012

- Herr Rau (München, Germany), April 28, 2012

- Cobangrrl, April 27, 2012

- Christiaan, March 26, 2012

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Good but not great, March 24, 2012
Most of the game takes place in seven rooms, and still this is no small game. It has simulations of both fire and water, and an NPC that responds to 250 topics! If you like to replay a game to find hidden stuff, this is the game for you! But the game also has bad sides. It might sound fun to be able to talk with an NPC about 250 topics, but in reality it gets boring after a while. Physics simulations like fire and water is not something that improves a game. The puzzles are difficult and the story about an orc looking for a lost pig is charming but also silly. It is overrated but still a fun game.

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Pretty Funny, March 6, 2012
Funny narration from the point of view character. Most of the game revolves around a series of enjoyable puzzles. I was able to win without hints or walk throughs, but it took me a couple of days and some thinking to do it.

- Relle Veyér, March 1, 2012

- JasonMel (Florida), February 29, 2012

- The Real JD (Louisiana), February 25, 2012

- tjax, February 21, 2012

- Greenspun (Grande Priarie, Alberta), February 19, 2012

- Hywel Dda, February 11, 2012

- Lea, February 4, 2012

0 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Grunk, January 23, 2012
by smartgenes (Newcastle, UK)
Having seen this game mentioned in Jason Scott's documentary Get Lamp, and as it had been hanging around my hard drive I considered it high time I played it. For some reason I had assumed the protagonist was a pig, so a genuine smile was brought to my face when i tried EXAMINE ME. It made me laugh out loud when I continued with EXAMINE PANTS.. and a genuine lol too, not one of those fake ones you send in chat messages. The overwhelming attention to responses makes it one of the best games I have ever played.

At first I felt possibly the biggest drawback to the game was its title, which somehow undersells it, it could have been called Grunk the Orc, or something of that ilk. However, after receiving a Microsoft Paint drawing my girlfriend had made after playing the game - of the aforementioned pig being chased around the fountain - I felt it necessary to withdraw this criticism! I also didn't like the room titles, which felt like they should be in a 1980s cave crawl game, and a Homer Simpson reference seemed out of context to me personally, but these were extremely minor niggles. What did seem in context though was the reference to looters killing and pillaging, which reminded me of the inanity of certain MUDs. This was the author using content external to the created world, but relevant content. I appreciated how the Grunk described locations by what wasn't there, and the author had obviously done a lot of work, as generic messages were all in the style of the Grunk's way of thinking. (So much so that I was beginning to think in a Grunkian way)

The basic premise of the game is that Grunk somehow has to return a pig to his master, and integral to this is interrogating the gnome with your grunt-like intelligence. Even though I was incredibly impressed with the range of conversation options, I did find the questioning of the gnome a little tedious - especially with the constant suggestions, something which may be inherent to Inform, as I noticed it it other games. Even in games like Monkey Island though, it was always the case of try all the options till you ran out; even so, perhaps it could have been implemented better than ASK ABOUT. There was a nice shortcut to "ASK GNOME ABOUT" anyway, and eventually I found out from the Help menu that there is also a short form TOPIC or T, so I suppose it was my fault for not reading the Help file, but I tend to avoid those like the plague for fear of solutions to puzzles being given away.

I did feel I was being driven to puzzle/story explications that I (and the grunk) might not necessarily have got, which leads me to some of the gnome's definitions. One of the reasons why adventure games have been so popular is that they inspire the mythological. Fabled stories have been passed down over generations, and do have a lot to offer. The explanations of alchemy were not in keeping with this world base, coming from modern misunderstandings of what alchemy is due to the limited notions of science today. So, a gnome having to account for alchemy to an orc seemed completely unnecessary on a variety of levels. Of course the world view of the author (or his character) is up to the author, but here it felt a little strained and not really in keeping with a fantasy setting. Joseph Campbell is a good source for the importance of mythology (he inspired Star Wars for instance) and why we shouldn't underestimate the past. So the downplay of alchemy felt something of a betrayal of the world to me (and not just a spurious one, as alchemy is an integral aspect of mythology). But this is just me waxing lyrical, and it doesn't have much of a bearing on gameplay.

But the scope of questions that could be asked was VERY impressive. In fact, where the conversation became interesting was when I impulsively asked the gnome about the author and got a response, which urged me to try a few more off-kilter questions. (Spoiler - click to show) There were responses to other names off the IF-MUD, OOPS, Harry Potter, Grue, and some others I spotted.The mossfuressence dialogue was a bit over-explanatory, which I think could have been funny with a bit more subtlety. I did think that asking the gnome about "gnomes" was more relevant than asking about "gnome" as I really did want to find out more about this created world, and so thought both should be implemented, even if it were the same message. At times we really got a sense of a mad-scientist personality in this gnome though. Ultimately I thought a lot of the suggested questions were redundant, and rather than having them as options they could have been there in the background to surprise the player if he typed them. There was no need to impress the player with the quantity of responses coded for (via the suggestions), as it seemed evident in the tightness of the game. The possibility of typing in fairly random questions and getting some responses was excellent, and reminded me of the Zenobi games written in the few years at the end of the life cycle of the 8-bit machines. They were witty and entertaining and experimental, just like this adventure (even the help files are amusing).

As far as possible inputs went, I did expect that I might be able to try pole vaulting the stream, so I was a bit disappointed that it seemed I couldn't. I was finding this strangely hard going despite the plethora of seeming clues with only 1 scored out of 7 (also my score went down one point, and I wasn't sure why) but with only a little more effort I had scored 3, and I found it such an incredibly and elegantly made game that I didn't care about my own ineptitude to solve the puzzles.

If I had so many critical niggles, it was only because this game really fascinated me and it seems not far off perfection itself.

- theorbtwo, January 2, 2012

- amciek (Opole), December 18, 2011

- The Xenographer, December 10, 2011

- Ouroboros, December 5, 2011

- Nav (Bristol, UK), November 24, 2011

- djbiology (New York, NY), October 25, 2011

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Clever Game, October 19, 2011
I chose to review the game "Lost Pig." I enjoyed this game because it’s very cute and the title suits it so perfectly. There are a few of the puzzles that rely on the little magical explanations. This game has a good sense of humor. When you’re stuck looking for a solution to the puzzles, it funny little actions keep you entertained and interested in the game. I think games like this are a good reason as to why text is still important. I thought it was very clever, informative, and enlightening. This is definitely my favorite game among the three on my recommendations list. I think laughter is an important factor when it comes to playing games. That’s the whole point of games, in my opinion. Lost Pig deserves 5 stars. 

- trojo (Huntsville, Alabama, USA), October 14, 2011

- AndyC (Japan), October 12, 2011

- Molly (USA), October 10, 2011

- perching path (near Philadelphia, PA, US), September 23, 2011

- Ann R. J., September 11, 2011

- heleneotroy (Washington, DC), September 8, 2011

- Neo, August 22, 2011

- Digibomber, July 29, 2011

- Ryan Veeder (Iowa), July 22, 2011

- Corwin71, July 9, 2011

- Nemansphere, June 27, 2011

- Xeinok (Cali/Osaka/Pattaya), June 9, 2011

- Adam D, June 6, 2011

- dr. quux, June 2, 2011

- Nathanial, May 27, 2011

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Fun, engaging with excellent writing, May 24, 2011
by ZUrlocker (Santa Cruz, CA)
This is a fun game with a very immersive style. Great to play in a group!

- RandomExile, May 19, 2011

- Rotonoto (Albuquerque, New Mexico), May 16, 2011

- SweetMeliisa (Michigan), May 5, 2011

- Joshua Wilson, April 25, 2011

- Ollie (Abingdon, UK), April 16, 2011

- Felix Pleșoianu (Bucharest, Romania), April 10, 2011

- Carlo, April 10, 2011

- Pure, April 4, 2011

- Mason Saail (Northern California), March 28, 2011

- rootmos (Stockholm, Sweden), March 26, 2011

- Vaughany (Devon, United Kingdom), March 16, 2011

- JohnW (Brno, Czech Republic), March 16, 2011

- OtisTDog, March 12, 2011

- reidab (Portland, Oregon), March 10, 2011

- Ryusui (Out in the middle of a field!), March 9, 2011

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Love, March 7, 2011
by spinnerin (Portland, OR)
This is my favorite game in a while. It’s funny, well-written, and the perfect size and scope for a text adventure. Everything you do enhances the story, instead of only helping to solve the game puzzle. Well done.

- Melikika, February 6, 2011

- The Year Is Yesterday (California), December 25, 2010

- Mattlistener (Boston), December 24, 2010

- Markoff23, December 8, 2010

- GreenSnake, December 3, 2010

- salty-horse, November 20, 2010

- Dr. Dagon (Göteborg, Sweden), November 20, 2010

- Softbagel, October 21, 2010

- armandch, October 13, 2010

- srh (Seattle, WA), September 25, 2010

- Xervosh (San Jose, Northern California), September 3, 2010

- Baughbberick (Knoxville, TN), August 27, 2010

- Clemency Jones (England), August 26, 2010

- Muskie, August 14, 2010

- schifter (Louisville, KY), August 13, 2010

- Joel Webster (Madison, WI), July 26, 2010

- Buffaloelvis, July 22, 2010

- SarahTheEntwife (USA), July 15, 2010

- Mark Jones (Los Angeles, California), July 6, 2010

1 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Lost Pig is a crack up., June 27, 2010
by Shoki (Los Angeles)
Fun game. I thought the writing was great. I need to retrain my mind to figure out these puzzles. I got stuck a few times. I did try mapping the game with IFM and that was also very cool.
Note: this rating is not included in the game's average.

- lagran-G-an (Tel-Aviv, Israel), June 26, 2010

- smurfas666 (Klaipeda, Lithuania), June 17, 2010

- tekket (Česká Lípa, Czech Republic), June 13, 2010

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Greatness, June 10, 2010
by tggdan3 (Michigan)
The writing of this game is enough to draw you in by itself. Your character is stupid- an orc, and the descriptions of everything keeps that in mind, continually reminding you that you are seeing things simply and not thinking too much.

The game is puzzle based, where you need to find a lost pig (not too hard), and catch it (a bit harder). Everything seems fairly well implemented, and the character you can interact with seems to respond to the appropriate topics.

There isn't much to say about this game without giving away puzzles or solutions, but I would definately reccommed this game to anyone in favor of the wandering around solving puzzles genre of IF, like Zork or similar. If you want Galtea conversation or Cadre's IF experiments, this isn't for you.

- Masada, May 28, 2010

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Very accessible and truly hilarious, May 20, 2010
The main story is very good and puzzles are challenging.
But the best caracteristic of this game is the choice of the main character. His poor language allows hilarious descriptions of rooms and items, getting closer to Interactive Fiction syntax (improving immersion), but also allows non-english people (like me) to fully enjoy the great humor of the author.
Secondary characters are also great and highly responsive.

Honestly it's the best IF I ever played!


- Patrick M. McCormick (United States), May 4, 2010

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Re-ignited my IF obsession, April 11, 2010
I've loved IF since I was a kid with a copy of Zork, and every once in a while I'll jump back in, but I hadn't played any titles in a few years. I downloaded Frotz for my iPhone, though, and one day while I was bored I started it up and thought "Lost Pig, huh? Well, let's see what this is about."

Well, Grunk stole my heart. I played the game all the way to the end on my iPhone, which, given the difficulty of entering commands on the tiny keyboard, says a lot. I simply couldn't stop until I'd found the end and picked out as many of the narrative gems as I could find. The clever use of language and the bewildering varieties of orc-like behaviors that Admiral Jota rewards with amusing results makes this game a winner, and the inability to make the game unwinnable makes it possible to try many actions just to find out what the response will be, without having to worry that you'll do something wrong.

The puzzles were neither overly simple nor brain-achingly difficult. I did resort to a walkthrough for one puzzle, but felt a bit dense afterward since the solution was rather obvious in hindsight. The NPC interaction can feel a little "consult the encyclopedia" if one hammers away at it long enough, but the conversation mechanism is thoroughly implemented and the writing is immersive enough to minimize the "ask a question, ask another question, ask yet another question" feeling.

The game is also ideal for people who prefer their environments small and manageable; the setting is confined to a handful of rooms that are easy to navigate and difficult to get lost in. At the same time, it's implemented fully enough that it never feels too limiting or claustrophobic.

All in all, this game has re-ignited my fascination with interactive fiction, and has even inspired me to pull my own unfinished title out of mothballs. I'm glad I went looking for that pig: me found a lot more than me expected.

- Danielle (The Wild West), March 16, 2010

- TanRu, March 12, 2010

- omenofdoom, March 5, 2010

- Martinellis (California), March 1, 2010

- Sam Kabo Ashwell (Seattle), February 15, 2010

- Ken Hubbard (Ohio), January 24, 2010

- loungeman (Bilbao, Spain), January 4, 2010

- Imperator, December 26, 2009

- Nicholas, December 26, 2009

- Grey (Italy), December 21, 2009

- Nusco (Bologna, Italy), December 5, 2009

- Mr. Patient (Saint Paul, Minn.), December 3, 2009

- Matt Wigdahl (Olathe, KS), November 12, 2009

- Pepisolo, September 30, 2009

- finferflu (Manchester, UK), September 26, 2009

- DJ (Olalla, Washington), September 24, 2009

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful:
Practically perfect, September 21, 2009
I can't really add much to what has been said about this game already, except to say that I simply found it virtually perfect. The writing is absolutely beautiful, consistently funny, and often surprisingly moving. That is partly because Grunk, as a character, has such integrity and believability. Although presented as incredibly dense, the way he describes locations and objects, often incorporating quite shrewd observations along the way, suggests that he's not all that stupid at all. That gives him depth and emotional resonance. It must be said also that by having Grunk narrate the game in its entirety offers a neat approach to the problem of who the parser is supposed to be, and whether the narrator of the game is a different person from the PC. This game solves that problem by identifying the PC with the narrator, although at the cost of distancing the player from the PC (if Grunk is telling me what's going on, I'm clearly not Grunk, just in case I'd had any uncertainty on that score). There's no emotional distancing though, because Grunk is so engaging a personality.

The puzzles are nicely logical and the gnome NPC has a dry, educated wit that meshes perfectly with Grunk's rather more straightforward approach to life. There are a truly vast number of things you can ASK GNOME ABOUT, most of which have no bearing on the game itself, although some of course contain vital clues. It's a lot of fun to explore these topics, although this can result in the gnome seeming a bit like one of those information-dispenser sort of NPCs who are inexplicably willing to be grilled at length by over-curious PCs. But the gnome's sardonic wit and the fact that he's busily doing other things whilst satisfying Grunk's curiosity make him much more than a talking pedia.

The pig also has a lot of character, making this whole thing rather like one of those children's books that adults can also enjoy. I liked the author's attention to detail, which often brought out extra little elements of the characters (e.g. try taking your trousers off in front of the pig). I must admit that having apparently completed the game I was puzzled by how to gain the elusive last point and looked it up fully in the hints. I rather wished I hadn't, not only as it would have been more fun to work out by myself, but also because the behaviour required to get the last point is the sort of behaviour that I instinctively engage in when playing this sort of game anyway, but generally don't bother, because it seems not to matter. The fact that it mattered in this game says a great deal about it. This is a game with heart.

- Sorrel, September 2, 2009

- Cuxxu (Albany, NY), August 26, 2009

- Jimbo, August 23, 2009

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
A runaway success, July 26, 2009
by Dark-Star (Nebraska)
When I first spied this title listed on a favorite IF site, I was somewhat skeptical of the premise. An IF game where the protagonist is an oafish orc? And the objective is to recover a loose pig?!

A mere half-hour later, I had soundly proven myself wrong and hadn't been so glad for the fact in a long time. Grunk's simple-mindedness on the level of Dumb and Dumber provides nearly endless opportunities for hilarity; Lost Pig can be literally a laugh a minute. Old IF buffs as well as younger children may get the most enjoyment as the game generously rewards experimenting with zany behaviour. Sing, burp, yell, light your pants on fire and see what happens!

But that's not all - Admiral Jota isn't one to write a one-trick pony. Catching the little pile of porkchops is not at all an easy task, although it's debatable whether that's due to an amazingly clever pig or just that Grunk is such a dunce! Swine-snatching aside, the superbly detailed scenery and character interaction add immensely to the game's depth, as does the system of rewarding behavior. The only ways to lose are through foolishness or carelessness (such as (Spoiler - click to show) lighting the forest on fire to drive the pig from under a bush), and the 'best' ending is a reward that takes a good deal of effort to earn.

With an excellent balance in everything from humor to difficulty, Lost Pig is an enjoyable IF romp you'll be glad you took the time for.

- Ben Cressey (Seattle, WA), July 16, 2009

- GDL (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania), July 8, 2009

- Brian Conn (Eureka, California), June 18, 2009

- Sly Curado, June 7, 2009

- ReasonAnce (Poland), May 18, 2009

- Hipster Scumbag, May 4, 2009

- Dannii (Australia), April 28, 2009

4 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Casual IF should be a myth, but..., April 27, 2009
by Michael R. Bacon (New Mexico)
I asked some friends who are not even very computer-savvy to try "Lost Pig" and they became engrossed after a few minutes of user-interface confusion. I had always thought the confusion would be enough to put off the average user (and still do not believe in IF as a profitable venture), but each of them greatly enjoyed the game and wanted to continue playing longer than my laptop was available to them.

- Halcyon, April 12, 2009

- four1475 (Manhattan, KS), April 10, 2009

- Rhian Moss (UK), April 3, 2009

- Mastodon, March 26, 2009

- Newbot, March 7, 2009

- Mortchek (United States), February 28, 2009

- googoogjoob, February 25, 2009

- MyTheory (Missouri), February 15, 2009

- Adam Biltcliffe (Cambridge, UK), December 28, 2008

- meatwhore, December 9, 2008

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Making fun of orcs never gets old., November 25, 2008
by mazirian (Yarmouth, Maine)
Related reviews: IF Comp 2007, comedy, fantasy
A short but fun game that relies on the inherent humor of its orc protagonist. Fortunately, the game is easily solved before the joke of doing things to your pants wears thin. This would be a great introductory game for anyone new to IF.

- ensoul, November 14, 2008

- Stagrovin, November 10, 2008

- Linnau (Tel-Aviv, Israel), October 31, 2008

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful:
10 year olds review Lost Pig, October 14, 2008
by Mike Sousa (Massachusetts)
It was very fun and exciting and I liked the characters, especially Grunk. I liked the part with the bread machine. I also liked that whatever you ordered Grunk to do he did, including burping. I also liked that one thing led to another and you had to do things in order to solve the game.

I enjoyed how the game felt realistic, like it really was happening. The gnome dude was really cool and nice. It's not like you can talk to a gnome every day! I also enjoyed the fact that you had to be precise on your commands. I thought it was cool that you had to say exact directions... not like right,and left. More of N,NW,NS,E,SW,SE,S,AND WEST. It was an awesome game. I hope there are other games with Grunk included!!!!!!

Raquel & Liza
Age 10

- savagegreywolf (a secret underground bunker beneath the Astrodome), September 22, 2008

- hywelhuws (Clynnog Fawr, Wales, UK), September 21, 2008

- Sam Minnée (Wellington, New Zealand), September 13, 2008

- burtcolk, September 4, 2008

- Wesley (Iowa City, Iowa), September 1, 2008

- Genjar (Finland), August 31, 2008

- declain, August 27, 2008

- Timo Saarinen (Finland), August 27, 2008

- tylluan (Vermont), August 24, 2008

- Quitch (UK), August 23, 2008

- Maze (Rome, Italy), August 6, 2008

- NotVerySubtle, July 31, 2008

- Tetsuo (Taipei, Taiwan), July 30, 2008

- Martin Braun (Berlin, Germany), July 29, 2008

4 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Loved it, July 24, 2008
by Cesia (Colorado)
I loved this IF more than any other I've played. I couldn't help but laughing out loud! It was fun to play.

- ErWenn (Bloomington, IN), July 22, 2008

- alice-meynell, July 20, 2008

- LisariaUS, July 17, 2008

- zibahkhana, July 15, 2008

- dfreas, July 3, 2008

- Nathaniel Kirby (Pennsylvania), June 28, 2008

- Zoltar, June 23, 2008

- Shigosei, June 6, 2008

- Sarah Mitty (Ypsilanti, Michigan), June 4, 2008

- Seren (Paris, France), June 4, 2008

- reepeecheep (Harare), May 20, 2008

- Steve Blanding (Redmond, WA), May 6, 2008

- DrFredEdison (CO, USA), April 16, 2008

- Tom Hudson (Durham, North Carolina), April 15, 2008

- brattish (Canada), March 26, 2008

- Ghalev (Colorado), March 12, 2008

- Lady Sarah (Portland, Oregon), March 7, 2008

- zer, March 2, 2008

- Juhana, March 2, 2008

- J. Robinson Wheeler (Austin, TX), February 22, 2008

- Allonym (California), February 18, 2008

- mrihel (Philadelphia, PA, USA), February 1, 2008

- Michel Nizette (Brussels, Belgium), January 25, 2008

- frankpape (San Jose, California), January 17, 2008

- onyx (Ann Arbor, Michigan), January 17, 2008

- Wendymoon, January 13, 2008

- JudgeDeadd (Warsaw, Poland), December 25, 2007

- RichCheng (London, UK), December 19, 2007

- Tyrog, December 13, 2007

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Suitable for kids, December 9, 2007
by puzzler (Everett, Washington)
Related reviews: kids
I just finished playing through this game with my two children (ages 8 and 9). They both enjoyed the game. It's not always easy to determine whether a game is fully suitable for young kids, so I thought I'd mention that, as far as I can tell, Lost Pig has no objectionable content.

- Neale Grant (Hove, England), December 6, 2007

- VK, December 1, 2007

- Emily Boegheim, November 30, 2007

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
A Perfect Little Underground Adventure, November 30, 2007
by Matzerath (West Coast, Salty Smell)
Related reviews: Matzerath's Favorites
This game has single-handedly (that is NOT a masturbation reference) brought me back to the joy of Interactive Fiction. It's been some time since I've had to type 'NW', and hearing about Lost Pig, I felt compelled to, as in the days of my chronically be-seated youth, madly type basic sentences and weird abbreviations into a computer. And oh, how wonderful to return to the fold! Lost Pig is a perfect example of the form, in my opinion. I can't imagine the amount of play-testing that went into making almost every warped combination of disparate objects or obviously ridiculous actions something that doesn't baffle the parser, but instead, produces a hilarious and preconceived result. And while that is admirable in itself, the core puzzles are extremely well thought out; every one, at least for me, was of the head-slapping 'Goddamit why did I spend a half hour on that?!' variety. Including the elusive 'seventh point'.
And the NPC is sweet as well.
Sadly, playing this first has raised my expectations for the genre -- while there are other fabulous IF games available, few are as tightly knit as this one. I love expansive IF, of course, but I could play a million shorter ones if they covered almost every possibility as well as this one!
I mean, in how many computer games, no matter how graphically endowed, can you set your own pants on fire?

- Sami Preuninger (New York City), November 30, 2007

8 of 20 people found the following review helpful:
Started Strong And Then Lost Its Way, November 25, 2007
by AmberShards (The Gothic South)
Unlike others who have loved this game (and most games I review it seems are of this variety), I can't say that I enjoyed Lost Pig after about an hour. It starts strong, unfolding the world of the PC and who the PC is bit by bit. Then the impossible puzzles hit. You'll bang your head against the keyboard as you strive for even two points and move game objects around at random, utterly perplexed as to what is supposed to do what. The NPCs that you find may be loquacious, but they talk an awful lot about nothing at all. As that doesn't help you in any way with your objective in the game, their conversational skills quickly become annoying and frustrating. In short, the pacing and puzzle difficulty are seriously out of whack. It's a shame, because there's obviously been no small effort expended on the early parts of the game and the conversation structure. Playing Lost Pig is like you're driving a new car and just as you reach second gear, you drive off a cliff.

- Naeradan, November 24, 2007

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful:
GRUNK PANTS ON FIRE!, November 23, 2007
by Kake (London, England)
Related reviews: IF Competition 2007, *****, Admiral Jota
Aw, this is brilliant! Excellent attention to detail, and an awful lot of fun. It's well worth playing around and trying silly things that have no chance of advancing the game, just because the responses are so funny (e.g. try taking your pants off in company). Besides that, the implementation's solid, the puzzles make sense, Grunk and the pig both have a lot of character, and the ending is quite uplifting.

- flatluigi (Massachusetts, USA), November 20, 2007

- Leland Paul (Swarthmore, PA), November 19, 2007

- jgerrish (Ann Arbor, MI), November 18, 2007

- yandexx (Saint-Petersburg, Russia), November 17, 2007

- Benjamin Sokal (Elysium pod planting enclosure on Mars), November 16, 2007

- Emily Short, November 15, 2007


Showing All | Show by Page | Return to game's main page