Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

You are a Chef!

by Dan Shiovitz profile

Humor
2000

Return to the game's main page

Member Reviews

5 star:
(3)
4 star:
(9)
3 star:
(17)
2 star:
(9)
1 star:
(8)
Average Rating:
Number of Reviews: 10
Write a review


1-10 of 10


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Short and intentionally dumb. For fans of Pick Up the Phone Booth and Die., February 3, 2016
You are a chef! is a short and purposely dumb game. The game has bad spelling and grammar, poorly defined locations, and mainly consists of picking up ingredients falling from the sky.

The humor is that of Pick Up the Phone Booth and Die: make a minimalist game with dumb puzzles. Some people don't like it; I admit, I chuckled the first time I played it.

I came up with an interesting hypothesis as I played the game. Everytime you put an item in the pot, the game says:

"Good work Chef!!! But you must find more!! Ingrredients!!"

This game came out in 2000. Savoir-Faire came out in 2002. I suspect Emily Short found this message amusing and incorporated it into her game, as the cooking device in that game says almost the same thing with similar punctuation. In fact, I have to wonder if a lot of the food puzzle in Savoir-Faire was somehow born out of an attempt to make this game into something with more substance, in which case, she succeeded. It is also possible that they are both referencing something earlier; I don't know.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Original in a silly way, February 22, 2014
by Simon Deimel (Germany)
A very short game with a silly premise: So you are a chef and have to prepare a meal. There is a list of ingrediences that you have to use, and then a number of objects fall from the sky and you have to put the ones mentioned on the list into the pot (Spoiler - click to show)(or you take everything and then "put all into the pot" -- it also works, the game will automatically choose the right ones). Some things cannot be taken without previously getting hold of corresponding objects (luckily the game explicitly states the possession of which other item is required, as in some cases there is hardly any logic -- maybe it is knowledge based on community conventions which I am not familiar with). So there are no puzzles and the game progress takes place almost by itself. It just takes a short time to reach the ending.

Recommendable to people who feel like being silly for some minutes and cast the deadly seriousness aside.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Silly, but meant to be, December 12, 2011
I think this game serves more as a purpose to show what an IF-game can do, than actually being a game. It's very short, very silly and very easy to complete. If you need something to occupy you for a couple of minutes, go for it. Unless you're looking for a challenge. Then go elsewhere.

6 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Best SpeedIF Evar., September 4, 2010
by AmberShards (The Gothic South)
Of course, given that most Speed IF entries suck more a black hole, the hurdle for good Speed IF is ridiculously low. All you have to do is finish your game and you're in. You are a Chef not only surmounts that apparently difficult hurdle, but actually succeeds in being enjoyable to play and funny, to boot. The humor here is wild-eyed breathless zaniness. The difficulty is very easy, and the time it takes to win is a few minutes, tops. The ending is nothing spectacular, but the fun is all in the breathless over-the-top style and the running gag. It's definitely worth a few minutes of time. Bravo, Dan Shiovitz.

0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Worth a couple of minutes..., September 1, 2010
I don't regret the time I spent on it, the recurring joke was kind of funny for a while. But I'm afraid it was more of a relief than anything else when the game ended, and that was after playing it for about two minutes. I guess the game was the perfect length!

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful:
Not funny, January 29, 2009
by Victor Gijsbers (The Netherlands)
You are a Chef! is solidly within the "look, I have written a really bad game!" school of comedy. We can see this from the very first line: "HELLO CHEF!!!!!1". The string of exclamation marks ends with a '1' because the fictional 'n00b' author put his finger off of the Shift-key a little too early.

The main problem with this approach to comedy is that an intentionally bad game is still a bad game. To take badness and elevate it to another level is possible, but very hard; and I doubt that taking a straightforward approach to it is the way to go. See Mystery Science Theater 3000 Presents "Detective" for a non-straightforward, and much more successful, example. There, a separate "commentary" track is used to make fun of the source material. In You are a Chef!, we are just playing the very bad game.

Nor is the sheer absurdity of the events enough to make the player chuckle. Absurdity is only funny if there is some method behind it. Random objects falling from the sky simply do not qualify as a good joke.

Perhaps the dreariness of the game is best demonstrated by this exchange:

Iron safe falls from the sky!
It lands on top of clown and breaks open!

>x safe
In the iron safe you see a MYSTERY INGREDIENT.

>take ingredient
Taken.

>x it
I cannot tell you! It is a mystery!!


If you thought that was funny, please play this game.

0 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
grotesquely stupid and very funny, December 21, 2008
by kba (berlin)
The minute it took me to play was hilarious.

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Zany, November 26, 2007
by Tracy Poff (Hamlin, West Virginia, United States)
Related reviews: Speed-IF 8
This is a pleasant and zany little piece of SpeedIF. It's positively nonsensical, but so enthusiastically so as to be quite amusing. There's no real puzzle--walking about typing 'take all' would be sufficient to solve it--but it's brief enough that it's oddness alone is enough to sustain it. How can one not love a game that opens with "HELLO CHEF!!!!!1 You must make FOOD! You have a list! First to food wins!"?

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Very, very silly, November 26, 2007
by Kake (London, England)
Related reviews: Dan Shiovitz, ***, Speed IF
It's silly, it's fun, it has a monkey in it, and the goal is to make soup. What more could you want? (It's Speed IF, so don't expect it to be typo-free.) Effectively puzzleless.

6 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Pleasant sillyness, October 20, 2007
by Michael R. Bacon (New Mexico)
Describing it would ruin it, other than to say that it's surprisingly fun for seemingly almost no reason at all. It should take you only a few minutes, none of which will you regret.


1-10 of 10 | Return to game's main page