Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

Three-Card Trick

by Chandler Groover profile

Flimflam
2016

Web Site

Return to the game's main page

Reviews and Ratings

5 star:
(19)
4 star:
(17)
3 star:
(9)
2 star:
(1)
1 star:
(0)
Average Rating:
Number of Ratings: 46
Write a review


Previous | << 1 2 >> | Next | Show All


- Cory Roush (Ohio), July 11, 2017

- Pegbiter (Malmö, Sweden), June 16, 2017

- zylla, February 25, 2017

- Xavid, January 28, 2017

- Ivanr, January 27, 2017

- Sobol (Russia), January 21, 2017

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Absolute love this original, creepy work from Groover, January 17, 2017
by streever (America)
The opening feels like a farce, with an appropriate level of slapstick and humor-filled writing, before the early twist that brings this into a darker, more macabre mood.

Groover experiments with navigation frequently, and in this work, the area of play is established as a two-tiered festival ground organized in circles. On either tier, the player heads 'in' to the center, where most of the action occurs, or 'out', to the transit spot between the two tiers.

Mechanics are simple and satisfying, divided into two sets of actions. First the player must explore; second, they must perform the magic trick. Puzzles are fairly constructed and should be easy to solve, aided by well-written prose.

This is a compact, atmospheric piece which I highly recommend. It may be my favorite of Groover's work, which I hold to a high standard as it is some of the best new work appearing.

- Khalisar (Italy), December 20, 2016

- Robin Johnson (Edinburgh, Scotland), November 24, 2016

- hoopla, September 14, 2016

- revereche, July 17, 2016

- Squidi, May 19, 2016

- dream, May 7, 2016

- Doug Orleans (Somerville, MA, USA), May 3, 2016

- Wade Clarke (Sydney, Australia), April 27, 2016

- Oreolek (Kemerovo, Russia), April 24, 2016

- E.K., April 12, 2016

- Mr. Patient (Saint Paul, Minn.), April 9, 2016

- Ryan Veeder (Iowa), April 8, 2016

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
A shortish, story-driven parser game about dueling magicians at an exposition, April 7, 2016
Chandler Groover has put his characteristic mark on the magician genre. The game is similar to "An Act of Misdirection" in tone and concept (where the player is forced to perform magic tricks without completely knowing how, in a grim setting). However, the focus is on atmosphere over puzzles. I felt on the edge of my seat the whole time, wavering between fear and mild disgust.

The game is about dueling magicians who will go to any length to disrupt each other. This part reminded me in a good way of The Prestige, especially as the magicians use new tricks to upstage each other and try sabotage.

The game is thoroughly polished, and credits a lot of testers for a compact game, which helps explain its smooth gameplay. I encountered no bugs, and the parser was very well-stocked with synonyms. Playing this game was like watching a thriller, with the parser so slick that it essentially disappeared, leaving the player to interact directly with the story.

- Brendan Patrick Hennessy (Toronto, Ontario), April 6, 2016


Previous | << 1 2 >> | Next | Show All | Return to game's main page