Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

Vespers

by Jason Devlin

Historical/Religious
2005

Return to the game's main page

Reviews and Ratings

5 star:
(57)
4 star:
(71)
3 star:
(18)
2 star:
(8)
1 star:
(0)
Average Rating:
Number of Ratings: 154
Write a review


Showing All | Show by Page


- William Chet (Michigan), July 19, 2020

- winterfury (Russia), July 2, 2020

- Panawe, May 29, 2020

- bryn_gc, May 28, 2020

- Sammel, April 1, 2020

- edcst, March 30, 2020

- kierlani, March 29, 2020

- Juleske, December 31, 2019

- Tropical Gothic (Asia), December 2, 2019

- Rovarsson, November 29, 2019

- Durafen, November 18, 2019

- JudgeDeadd, September 20, 2019

- Stian, September 9, 2019

- ArchDelacy, May 27, 2019

- ghoulgalpal, April 16, 2019

- e.peach, March 16, 2019

- elias67, March 12, 2019

- Tristano (Italy), February 22, 2019

- DocDoe, December 13, 2018

- Zach Shifflett (VA, United States), December 11, 2018

- HarryKile, November 29, 2018

- meowbands, July 25, 2018

- yaronra, July 16, 2018

- Jan Strach, May 14, 2018

- Helena Vernon, February 23, 2018

- getlostdont, January 9, 2018

- Prosilire (New York City), December 3, 2017

- jakomo, September 21, 2017

- sushabye, September 2, 2017

- Julia Myer (USA), August 28, 2017

- Wanderlust, August 3, 2017

- IFforL2 (Chiayi, Taiwan), July 10, 2017

- Arkaedi, July 6, 2017

- Laney Berry, May 15, 2017

- Aerobe, April 14, 2017

- hoopla, April 1, 2017

- joethetimelord, February 10, 2017

- piffling-paka (State College, Pennsylvania), December 6, 2016

- syb0rN1NJ4, October 5, 2016

- miren, July 25, 2016

- Sodajerk, June 9, 2016

- Space Cowboy, May 22, 2016

- ToALonelyPeace, April 1, 2016

- zemma, March 27, 2016

- Lanternpaw, March 11, 2016

- Mergath, February 26, 2016

- E. W. B., February 23, 2016

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
A horror game in a monastery with extremely disturbing imagery, February 3, 2016
This is a game that very acvurately portrays a horrible situation, and thus left me feeling uncomfortable. Its not the kind of game I enjoy playing.

You play the abbot of a monastery that has been afflicted with plague, and you have to take control of the situation while everyone goes crazier and crazier.

The game features many npcs and strong moral choices. You can choose to do truly horrible things, including (Spoiler - click to show)rape, murder, eating corpses,etc., and egen if you choose the best paths, people around you (Spoiler - click to show)crucify others, violently commit suicide, etc.

I'm not proud that I completed this game. I came back to it years later, like scratching a scab you know you shouldn't.

- namekuseijin (anywhere but home), January 12, 2016

- branewurms, January 10, 2016

- E.K., December 12, 2015

- Aryore, December 12, 2015

- Nancy Boo, November 22, 2015

- shornet (Bucharest), May 4, 2015

- Thrax, March 11, 2015

- CMG (NYC), January 18, 2015

- Werd, January 2, 2015

- Catalina, December 17, 2014

- Jared Brown, September 20, 2014

- Floating Info, September 1, 2014

- Pinstripe (Chicago, Illinois), August 29, 2014

- Tefrian (UK), August 10, 2014

- wendladarlings, June 24, 2014

- xavea (Alberta, Canada), June 23, 2014

- Jerako, May 29, 2014

- Ismarus, March 27, 2014

- Steven Watson (UK), March 11, 2014

- Simon Deimel (Germany), December 27, 2013

- Cloud-Of-Judgement (Eastern Europe), December 12, 2013

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Heed the Disclaimer, December 1, 2013
by streever (America)
This game presents a muddled and incorrect theological perspective, that isn't particularly illuminating or enlightening. This leads to the only flaws in an otherwise well-written and engaging experience.

The shoddy theology makes it hard to recognize your choices as such, but the game makes great use of your choices, so it is frustrating that the developers limited understanding of Christian theology provides some inconsistent and illogical implementation. I recommend saving and using restore/undo as needed.

The actual mechanics of this game are fairly brilliant, and the writing is excellent. There are a few minor bugs (characters aware of events that haven't happened yet), but you can avoid them--and improve the overall experience--by restricting yourself to using "talk to character" instead of the more open-ended "ask".

Some of the puzzles are quite clever, and almost all of them involve multiple outcomes. Keep this in mind as you play; you are not restricted to the most obvious solutions. In this, the game does get closer to a proper Christian theology, although it still misunderstands the significance of this decision.

I enjoyed this game quite a bit and think it is well-done. Yes, there is some unsettling imagery, but I would rate it as "less disturbing than CSI".

- PrincessKitten, November 10, 2013

- grainne6, October 26, 2013

- Adam Myers, September 19, 2013

- wrathofthomas, July 31, 2013

- kala (Finland), May 15, 2013

- Danielle (The Wild West), April 18, 2013

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Ewww. Catch 22., April 17, 2013
by Andromache (Hawaii)
I'm starting to think games with a Christian component really aren't for me. I always end up feeling dissatisfied and conflicted, that ultimately, I'm somehow to blame for having an IF mindset or an ethical code. I understand that in Vespers' case, it was kind of unavoidable, but I'm still left feeling like I've been judged unfairly. Maybe I am just angry that none of the endings I found were really to my liking.

The best thing about the game was how the monastery and monks change over time. You really get a sense of how inexorable their fate is. However, implementation is uneven. I enjoyed the changing scenery but then would fetch up and be thrown out of the story when I asked someone about something and got an answer that didn't make sense considering what the PC knows or how he's interacted with the person. I also felt like some of the disgusting imagery could have been toned down, that it served little purpose but to be revolting. I'm aware the Plague is going on, but it was just so raw and unrelenting. Not to mention none of the characters are really likable.

This was one game I did not need hints for. That was nice. There are plenty of ways to die, and some timed puzzles, but if you cultivate a habit of saving games, it's not that much of a problem. It's not like you have to play really far back. They are just sections that take trial and error to get past. Somehow, this was not frustrating, since every time you die, you get clued in on what you did wrong. So the puzzles were satisfying and logical.

In the end, I don't feel very edified by this game's experience. I would not replay, even though there are other ways through it. (Spoiler - click to show)I got the middle path, but you can also be excessively evil or try to be the Christian your character is. My advice: Heed the disclaimer in the game menu. I made the mistake of thinking the gore wouldn't be so bad. It gets worse as the game progresses.

- dk101 (London, UK), March 2, 2013

- ptkw, February 28, 2013

- Stewjar (USA), January 29, 2013

- piehole, January 28, 2013

- verityvirtue (London), January 24, 2013

- platy, September 9, 2012

- iffotun, July 2, 2012

- Relle Veyér, March 2, 2012

- amciek (Opole), December 18, 2011

- felicitations, December 10, 2011

- katz (Altadena, California), November 22, 2011

- Marco Innocenti (Florence, Italy), November 17, 2011

- MonochromeMolly, November 8, 2011

- The Xenographer, November 2, 2011

- calindreams (Birmingham, England), July 6, 2011

- Nemansphere, July 3, 2011

- Cheerpants, June 9, 2011

- Katrisa (Houston), May 21, 2011

- Rotonoto (Albuquerque, New Mexico), May 16, 2011

- Felix Pleșoianu (Bucharest, Romania), March 23, 2011

- snickerdoddle, January 27, 2011

- Ben Cressey (Seattle, WA), January 26, 2011

- Traze, January 11, 2011

- Karl Ove Hufthammer (Bergen, Norway), October 30, 2010

- Brian Lavelle (Edinburgh, Scotland), September 12, 2010

- Mr. Patient (Saint Paul, Minn.), August 20, 2010

- Alder (San Francisco), August 15, 2010

- Celestianpower (Gloucestershire, UK), July 25, 2010

- MyTheory (Missouri), July 20, 2010

- Leland Paul (Swarthmore, PA), April 26, 2010

- WaterMonkey314, April 10, 2010

- yandexx (Saint-Petersburg, Russia), March 19, 2010

- J. Francisco Martín (Spain), March 10, 2010

3 of 16 people found the following review helpful:
Extremely overrated, December 26, 2009
by Andreas Teufel (Poland)
OK I've decided I don't care whether any of the haters vote no, I give only my honest opinion, and I don't run with the pack (or rather flock)

---

Vespers

Name of the Rose all over again? It is impossible to deny the influence (right to the end (or rather one of them)).

Good points

- while this is an Anchorhead-like game in that you have to walk around and see what room description has changed, in contrast to the aforementioned game it's generally not too hard to advance the plot, I was able to guess most things the game expected me to do

- puzzles are solveable and logical (very big plus)

- style is ok

- technically good

Neutral points

- multiple endings, but I don't have the slightest desire to see them

Bad points

- there is little logic in the plot or characters, e.g. why should you (Spoiler - click to show)pray to a woman! In the end, everything goes to hell, also literally.

- the world never comes alive (big minus point), descriptions are too minimalistic, interactivity is severely limited, rooms generally feel very bare

- little fun stuff (stuff that is not needed to complete the game), I don't think you (Spoiler - click to show)find a single item you don't need to complete the game other than the notes

- syntax isn't really flawless, there are bad responses and I think even some typos

- the game is never actually interesting or gripping, nor deep, it could as well be set on the moon, what were you reviewers playing!!!

best NPC nominee?! Twice?! I cannot jot down how angry that makes me!!!

game of the year?! with every mediocre or bad award-winning game I play the artistical level of interactive fiction seems lower and lower to me

where is the Planescape: Torment of IF?! there MUST be one... I will continue searching.

Vote no. I command you to.

- Grey (Italy), December 21, 2009

- TempestDash (Cincinnati, Ohio), December 4, 2009

- Divide (Wroclaw, Poland), December 2, 2009

- Ugo, November 3, 2009

- lupusrex (Seattle, WA), October 3, 2009

- DJ (Olalla, Washington), September 24, 2009

- perching path (near Philadelphia, PA, US), May 7, 2009

- Mark Jones (Los Angeles, California), March 30, 2009

- Mastodon, March 26, 2009

- Jerome C West (United Kingdom), March 18, 2009

- Shigosei, February 15, 2009

- albtraum, February 8, 2009

- Emily Boegheim, February 1, 2009

- bolucpap, January 26, 2009

- Ikram (Swaziland), November 2, 2008

- Linnau (Tel-Aviv, Israel), October 31, 2008

- lobespear, October 25, 2008

- hywelhuws (Clynnog Fawr, Wales, UK), September 21, 2008

- alice-meynell, July 20, 2008

- ParserGirl, July 12, 2008

- Emily Short, July 3, 2008

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
Apocalypse a Few Centuries Ago, July 2, 2008
by C.E.J. Pacian (England)
As a hypochondriac, I stopped playing Vespers as soon as I read the word 'plague'. And then, a few days later, I started playing it again. Something about its atmospheric depiction of an abbey barricaded against the Black Death drew me back, not because it was pleasant, but because it was quite thoroughly sinister.

Another thing that quickly had me hooked me was the way Vespers starts out as a medieval detective story. Alongside the plague, murder has come to the abbey, not to mention a mysterious waif and stray, and the monks are all acting strangely - among them the player character. As things progress, Vespers only becomes darker and more sinister, something that I would normally expect to repel me - but this carefully constructed rendition of apocalyptic Dark Age sentiments kept me hooked until, naturally enough, the detective portion gives way to a set of uncomfortable decisions - some of which you will have already made before you realise their portent.

This kind of IF game, where you must explore a world and form a moral reaction, has obviously been done before, most notably in Slouching Towards Bedlam. But whereas in that game I found myself having to refer to the hints to get the least thing done, my experience with Vespers flowed quite nicely towards its dramatic and nihilistic conclusion.

- Nathaniel Kirby (Pennsylvania), June 28, 2008

- Fra Enrico (Torino, Italy), June 4, 2008

- Moses Templeton, May 3, 2008

- Dave Chapeskie (Waterloo, Ontario, Canada), April 23, 2008

- Cheryl L (Australia), March 11, 2008

- Timo Saarinen (Finland), March 1, 2008

- mrihel (Philadelphia, PA, USA), January 30, 2008

- Michel Nizette (Brussels, Belgium), January 17, 2008

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
Haunting, memorable, January 17, 2008
by incandenza (carrboro, north carolina)
I still think about Vespers nearly a year and a half after first playing through it. In the game you are a monk in charge of a monastery during the plague years of Europe. The nearby town has succumbed to disease, and the abbey is the last available refuge. The game takes place over a few days as the plague begins to infiltrate this remaining sanctuary. Dark secrets are uncovered, and the abbey itself is one of the strongest and most dynamic characters in the game. Though not for the faint of heart, or those who are easily offended by violence or religious questioning, the sense of place, immersive character, and interesting NPCs make this one of my favorite IF works.

- tfbk, January 10, 2008

- oddgrue (California), December 30, 2007

- RichCheng (London, UK), December 19, 2007

- Tyrog, December 13, 2007

- Isxek, December 4, 2007

- VK, November 26, 2007

- Nusco (Bologna, Italy), November 21, 2007

- Stephen Bond (Leuven, Belgium), October 26, 2007

- Glutnix (Wellington, New Zealand), October 24, 2007

- zer, October 24, 2007

- PDearmore (Central New York), October 22, 2007

- Sam Kabo Ashwell (Seattle), October 21, 2007


Showing All | Show by Page | Return to game's main page