Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

All Roads

by Jon Ingold profile

Historical/Time Travel
2001

Web Site

Return to the game's main page

Reviews and Ratings

5 star:
(28)
4 star:
(63)
3 star:
(29)
2 star:
(6)
1 star:
(7)
Average Rating:
Number of Ratings: 134
Write a review


Previous | << 1 2 3 4 5 6 >> | Next | Show All


- Narcisse, November 26, 2010

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Good idea, bad result, November 21, 2010
by Aintelligence (Canada)
Related reviews: Bad, linear, roads, time
'wow'! What a great idea' I thought, 'an adventure all about switching through time'!
Turns out that this was horribly developed.
1. The characters were so flat it wasn't funny. The characters were usually only seen once or twice, not nearly enough time to do anything with their personalities. The main character was so hopelessly pathetic, and ill developed. He spent most of his time getting captured, moping, then trying to escape, and doing nothing of free will. There is no fun in that.
2. This story was too linear. I'm actually a fan of fairly linear adventures, but this was pitiful. There were hardly any puzzles in this whole work and to make matters worse, you got no control over what the character does. You do one obvious thing and it leads you to another obvious thing. It was infuriating how every action you did, it took you on a completely scripted part.
3.the plot was not terrible though, but take out the character dimension, and the free will and you get nothing
Note: this rating is not included in the game's average.

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Interesting ... but confused, November 15, 2010
by Stumpy (A maze of twisty little passages, all alike (apart from the one I'm currently in))
An interesting experiment in storytelling, this isn't your typical brand of puzzle solving adventure title (there was only really one puzzle in the whole game).

The focus here is on telling the story and taking the reader through it.

The story begins with the protagonist on the hangman's block waiting to be executed, with no idea how, or why, they are there. It then proceeds through a number of seemingly disjointed episodes before coming full-circle with a twist.

Personally I enjoyed the experience, but the major flaw lies in the lack of character development through the telling. Yes, we learn what the protagonist's stock in trade is, and why he's there and what he's doing, but there's no real development of his character or background which for me left the experience lacking a little.

I also found the disjointedness of the scenes to be both confusing and disorienting to begin with. It was only after the story had progressed to a significant degree that the pieces began to fit together (helped by some gratuitous hint dropping in the narrative).

Overall though, a recommended try.

- Chris Longhurst (Oxford, UK), October 1, 2010

- Joel Webster (Madison, WI), July 26, 2010

- Nusco (Bologna, Italy), May 28, 2010

- Patrick M. McCormick (United States), May 20, 2010

- Azazel, April 2, 2010

- Aina Grey, December 29, 2009

3 of 23 people found the following review helpful:
Pissed off, December 26, 2009
by Andreas Teufel (Poland)
Confused nonsense about a shadowdancer/assassin in some parallel universe Italy (best setting EVAR!!!11), a story that repeats over and over in some utterly senseless way, a protagonist who is uninteresting in the worst way since he has no personality at all and WE KNOW NOT A FUCKING THING ABOUT HIM.

yeah, it's game of the year (!) material all right!

I am beyond words.

- Otto (France), September 24, 2009

- ReddestDream (Nowhere Land), September 3, 2009

- Shchekotiki, August 3, 2009

- Stephen Gilbert (Canada), July 10, 2009

- Brian Conn (Eureka, California), June 18, 2009

- MyTheory (Missouri), June 13, 2009

- Bart Oshgo, April 16, 2009

- four1475 (Manhattan, KS), April 10, 2009

- Newbot, March 7, 2009

- winky, February 24, 2009

- qwrrty (Carlisle, Massachusetts), February 11, 2009

- albtraum, February 8, 2009

- Karl Ove Hufthammer (Bergen, Norway), January 12, 2009

- Audiart (Davis, CA), January 2, 2009

- Aaron Mumaw (Appalachia), December 21, 2008


Previous | << 1 2 3 4 5 6 >> | Next | Show All | Return to game's main page