Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

Reviews by MathBrush

View this member's profile

Show ratings only | both reviews and ratings
View this member's reviews by tag: 15-30 minutes 2-10 hours about 1 hour about 2 hours IF Comp 2015 Infocom less than 15 minutes more than 10 hours Spring Thing 2016
1-10 of 1985 | Next | Show All


RED FAST BENT, by B Minus Seven

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Gruesome poetry in triplicate, November 15, 2020
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
Like most of B-minus's work, this is a shortish surreal Twine game with haunting descriptions and poetic use of choices.

In particular, this game features several choices in a row, on one page, where for each one you can pick RED, FAST, or BENT.

I originally was going to give this 3 stars, but the layout and format are so nice looking, especially for a game made in 4 hours or less.

I wasn't big on B-minus when I first read their work, but Chandler Groover has always expressed a lot of appreciation and interest in B-minus games, and it made me look at them with more appreciation. I wonder how much of my own reviewing is tangled up in my own experiences and history that I bring to the game. Earlier today I gave a higher rating to an Among Us-based IF game and rated it higher because I liked Among Us. It's weird to think about.

Anyway, I thought this was pretty good.

Rat Chasm, by Hatless

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
A short graphics-intensive musing on humanity with rats, November 15, 2020
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
At first, I thought this game was just a link to BBC (which for some reason didn't work for me when I clicked on it but worked when I manually entered it into the search bar).

Then it turned out I could scroll down. It's a multimedia page and it has some interesting features (for instance, you can either scroll down to read more text or click links instead, with some interaction between the two).

The non-working initial link and the abrupt, buggy-looking ending put me off the game a little bit. The writing is vivid and imaginative, though, and the visuals are compelling.

Phantasmagoria, by Jac Colvin

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
A short replayable escape game in Choicescript, November 15, 2020
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
I debated back and forth on what score to give this game, so I'm going to break it down by points.

This is a short choicescript game where you have to defeat an evil spirit in a test involving an ever-shortening candle.

It has a cool yellow bar representing the candle, and its structure allows for quick replay.

When I saw the timer, I felt nervous, so the game was able to impact me emotionally. I played through to two different endings.

Very impressive for four hours. I know its silly, but I think the yellow bar is what bumped it up from 3 stars to 4 for me, it's just cool to me as a Choicescript author.

The Long Nap, by Paul Michael Winters

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Short and clever escape game, November 15, 2020
by MathBrush
Related reviews: 15-30 minutes
I think it would be fair to describe this as an escape room game. You wake up in the dark and have to navigate from their until you exit the room.

This is exactly the kind of game that works well with La Petite Mort (the four hour competition): has a concept that wouldn't work as well in a longer game, has a constrained setting to allow for more detail.

I didn't encounter any implementation problems at all, which is pretty impressive. Definitely had a fun time with this little puzzler.

Last Day, by Earth Traveler

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
A short parser game about the end of the world, November 15, 2020
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This game is surprisingly complex for a 4-hour game. There's conversation (although only ASK X ABOUT COMET works in general), many locations, a vehicle, rope.

There are a lot of grisly details. As a content warning, this game has frequent references to suicide. That part was a bit too dark for me.

I only found one ending, on a cliff. I'm sure there are other endings (I think other reviewers have found them).

The Imposter, by Carter Gwertzman

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
A short story based on Among Us, November 15, 2020
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This is a very short story about the game Among Us. I feel like I'm giving all the La Petite Mort games 3 stars (which, I figure is what you'd expect most speed-IF to be at most). This game is very short, but I love playing Among Us with my son, so it was fun.

And it surprised me twice. The first one I feel very dumb for not thinking of, given how obvious it is, but the second thing that surprised me is how customized the text is based on the order of your choices.

Short fun.

Fracture, by Ralfe Rich

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
A short but vivid one-verb game, November 15, 2020
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This game is directly modeled on Lime Ergot and Toby's Nose, where the main action is found by examining something over and over again, including things mentioned in the description.

It's more rough than those two, with some typos and less direction for the player, but the worldbuilding was intriguing to me and the descriptiveness well-done.

It's a brief game, but I played through it twice and feel there's still more for me to discover.

Ebony & Ivory's Halloween Party, by M. Nite Chamberlain

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Monster party shenanigans, November 15, 2020
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This is a short, styled twine game about having a party with monsters and you having to find some gourds.

It has a world-model, various characters that can interact with each other, and some items.

Everything's just small. There's very little of interest in the conversational options that don't advance the story, and only a few options do anything.

But this was made in 4 hours, and I'm honestly impressed at how much they packed in in that time. And some of the characters are described very well (especially Orlok and Lycan).

Death Plays Battleship, by Nerd Date Night

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
A short and straightforward game about battling death, November 15, 2020
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This is pretty good for a 4-hour-or-less game. You meet death in some sort of spiritual limbo, and you get the chance to redeem your soul through playing chess.

Instead of placing ships on a grid, your position is pre-selected and your guesses come from a menu. I won the first time I played, but I don't know if it was rigged to always win or if it was just random chance.

There are some interesting thoughts on the freedom of the soul, but I feel like the whole thing could use some more fresh takes. But that's hard to do in 4 hours, so I'm overall pretty happy with this game.

Cabin in the Forest, by willitchio

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
A short choicescript game with elaborate character creation, November 15, 2020
by MathBrush
Related reviews: less than 15 minutes
This is an interesting short game. You have to create a character to run through a short horror story.

But the narrator, Pallas, wants your creation to be incredibly detailed. While each choice has narrow options (as commented on by the narrator), there are many options to be had before the impending disaster.

I liked it. Near the middle, I started clicking fast through several similar/repetitive options, but I think that's part of the experience.

The game overall seems well polished for something made in less than 4 hours. The emotional moments didn't 100% land for me, but it was good overall.


1-10 of 1985 | Next | Show All