Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

9:05

by Adam Cadre profile

Slice of life
2000

Web Site

Return to the game's main page

Reviews and Ratings

5 star:
(67)
4 star:
(154)
3 star:
(60)
2 star:
(11)
1 star:
(2)
Average Rating:
Number of Ratings: 295
Write a review


Showing All | Show by Page


- Sobol (Voronezh, Russia), September 12, 2014

- secretgeeksociety, September 2, 2014

- Boochuckles (Tampa Bay, Fl), August 7, 2014

- tekket (Česká Lípa, Czech Republic), May 7, 2014

- kris, April 5, 2014

- Stefan Hornet (Bucharest), March 23, 2014

- Deychrome, March 20, 2014

- KimNJ, March 14, 2014

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Short but worth a few playthroughs, March 13, 2014
by Jerry Martin (Colossal Caves)
Related reviews: Short IF, Good for Beginners, 2014 Reviews
9:05 is a perfect example of why IF doesn't need to be five hours long to be good. In fact, the short length does it wonders, as it encourages replays and makes it great for newbies to enjoy without overwhelming them. It starts off with a scenario we've all likely had the displeasure of experiencing in real life: you wake up with a start to find the phone ringing. It's your co-worker, who informs you that you're five minutes late to a big meeting you've been planning for a while.

The basic goal is simple: get yourself cleaned up in a hurry, grab a bite and get to work before you lose your job. The real life connection you'll likely have in the game will primarily motivate you to finish the IF. However, it's the twists the story takes that really make 9:05 memorable and replayable for both IF vets and newbies alike. Like many reviews state, you'll understand once you play it and it will be fun to replay a few times.

However, 9:05 will only take about 5-10 minutes to complete on your first playthrough, which will offput a lot of players looking for a deep adventure to lose themselves into. However, I find it makes it accessible to newbies because of this and encourages the replay value the IF pushes for, though I do wish there were more areas and objects to interact with.

If you're still on the fence, give it a try. At worst, you'll waste about 5 minutes, which is nothing. At best, you'll find a great IF with twists and turns that will shock you and a lot of replay value.

- Lorxus, March 8, 2014

- Jonas Kyratzes (The Lands of Dream), February 28, 2014

- Simon Deimel (Germany), February 25, 2014

- 10CallClear, February 10, 2014

- lynd, February 2, 2014

- Binder, January 27, 2014

- francisthe3rd (Horseheads, NY), January 23, 2014

- IxPrefect, December 30, 2013

- KidRisky (Connecticut, USA), December 19, 2013

- Katrisa (Houston), December 5, 2013

- MaryP (Germany), November 7, 2013

- John Simon (London), October 31, 2013

- grainne6, October 25, 2013

- Zeofar, August 29, 2013

- Danielle (The Wild West), August 20, 2013

- Jason Lautzenheiser (Navarre, Ohio), August 16, 2013

- Indigo9182, August 13, 2013

- Egas, August 4, 2013

- Enrique, July 31, 2013

- veronica, July 28, 2013

- Will, July 21, 2013

- Guillaume Voisine (Montréal), July 17, 2013

- snollygoster, June 29, 2013

- Satupeka, June 24, 2013

- Gluon, May 9, 2013

- Kuffen Bach (Brno), May 7, 2013

- DAzebras, May 7, 2013

- _eMMe_ (Milan, Italy), April 14, 2013

- Zepton (Canada), April 6, 2013

- Floating Info, April 3, 2013

- Tortoiseshell Bat, March 18, 2013

- DJ (Olalla, Washington), March 15, 2013

- turtlejack, March 15, 2013

- ptkw, February 28, 2013

- redfuture (Canada), February 18, 2013

- darint (Boston, Massachusetts), February 14, 2013

- Stewjar (USA), January 29, 2013

- verityvirtue (Singapore), January 24, 2013

- Steven Watson (UK), January 20, 2013

- drumsfellow, January 13, 2013

- Fantacide (California), December 31, 2012

- Yggdrasil, December 23, 2012

- AlexMeanberg, December 19, 2012

- Brianna, December 4, 2012

- Artran (Prague, Czech Republic), November 27, 2012

- Christiaan, November 13, 2012

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Short and clever, November 12, 2012
by Yuna
An exercise in the assumptions we make as readers of interactive fiction. Takes maybe five minutes to play through, and well worth the time.

- Rezz05, October 11, 2012

- krymourn8, October 7, 2012

0 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Suprise! Suprise! Suprise!, September 30, 2012
You'll be amazed and delighted when you figure it out!! So well written you forget your playing! This story is a wonderful treasure behind a beautiful door, If you knock, the door shall be opened!!

- E.K., September 28, 2012

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Good for Beginners, September 25, 2012
This is a great little IF especially for beginners. It was among the first "modern" IFs I have played. It's not very long, and could of perhaps had a little more interesting "nuggets"/side plot to it, but overall, I found it a fun easy game. Because of a plot twist, it has definite replay value.
Appointed: A star each for gameplay, plot, ease of use & replay value
Recommended: for beginners, or as a "work break" game.
Personal Opinion: Overall, this IF grabbed me due to the plot twist, I normally am able to see/expect what's coming, and this twist in the story made me go back and replay it. I would highly recommend it for that reason alone.

- AADA7A, September 20, 2012

- Lubulos, September 10, 2012

- platy, September 9, 2012

- RaulFPL (Brazil), August 24, 2012

- glassmice (Equatorial), August 20, 2012

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Great fun, August 18, 2012
by Coldfinger (Germany)
Short, elegant and oh so much fun. More of these please. Perfect for an afternoon break, a good laugh and well...at least two replays.

- Cuxxu (Albany, NY), August 10, 2012

- Catalina, August 2, 2012

- Binderman, August 1, 2012

- liz73 (Cornwall, New York), July 4, 2012

- OtisTDog, July 2, 2012

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Short and doubly-sweet, July 2, 2012
by WriterBob (Richmond Hill, Ontario)
There isn't much that I can say about this game that hasn't been said before, at least not without revealing the game. Like this review, it's very brief and far more enjoyable than I'd anticipated. One caveat, if you're new to playing IF, know that this isn't a typical game.

- amciek (Opole), June 4, 2012

- kala (Finland), May 26, 2012

- Orivej Desh, May 12, 2012

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
The joke was on me!, May 12, 2012
by Robert DeFord (Sequim, WA, USA)
A most enjoyable little game that played a practical joke on me. What a kick! No conventional book could do that, only IF.

I am a wannabe IF author and I was looking for a top-rated game that I could play quickly and lean a little about what makes an IF game popular. This game did not disappoint. I loved it. You should play it.

- Anthony Mueller, May 12, 2012

- shilmista, May 10, 2012

- Cobangrrl, May 6, 2012

- zylla, May 2, 2012

0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
A Great Game, May 1, 2012
I played this game and thought it was great. In the game your late for work and have to try and get there as fast as you can.

- rootmos (Stockholm, Sweden), April 28, 2012

- Abalone , April 19, 2012

- stadtgorilla (Munich, Germany), April 17, 2012

- Peloquin, April 14, 2012

- Ruth A, April 3, 2012

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Great Fun!, March 20, 2012
by Jim Kaplan (Jim Kaplan has a room called the location. The location of Jim Kaplan is variable.)
Related reviews: adam cadre, humor
Play it if: you have a sense of humor.

Don't play it if: you're under the impression that your time is too precious to bother with a game that isn't long, complex, or challenging.

I don't think a game has made me laugh that hard in ages!

There's only so much one can say about a game like this, because it has a very specific, fairly spoiler-iffic aim in mind. Discussing difficulty, the command system, and technical innovation would have no point. Suffice to say that it accomplishes its goal. It has some significant replay value: it's only on a second playthrough, observing the seemingly mundane yet rather precise way in which everything is described and reported, that you realize how tight the writing really is.

This is my first experience with Adam Cadre's work, and on the strength of this one alone I'm going to go check out some of his other stuff.

- Narwhal (California), March 11, 2012

- Felix Larsson (Gothenburg, Sweden), March 7, 2012

- Relle Veyér, March 1, 2012

- Bran Rainey (Windsor, Ontario), February 26, 2012

- The Real JD (Louisiana), February 24, 2012

- TheBloke (Brighton, UK), February 21, 2012

- knowyourknot, February 1, 2012

- deathbytroggles, January 29, 2012

- gordebak (Ankara, Turkey), January 10, 2012

- Destarex (Colorado), January 9, 2012

- Costis, January 2, 2012

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
The perfect introduction to IF - and a fine treat for veteran players, January 1, 2012
by Joe Pereira (Portugal)
This game is the perfect introduction to IF - great writing, simple puzzles, fantastic sense of humour, it's very short (20 minutes with a 2nd or 3rd playthrough) and an absolutely classic ending. It cleverly plays on the classic trope in IF of the player-character seemingly knowing as much about the environment as the interactor. A MUST play game.

- theorbtwo, December 11, 2011

- felicitations, December 9, 2011

- Nav (Bristol, UK), November 24, 2011

- trojo (Huntsville, Alabama, USA), October 31, 2011

- AndyC (Japan), October 9, 2011

- Fredrik (Tierp, Sweden), September 17, 2011

- Monodu, September 4, 2011

- Savaric (Sweden), August 31, 2011

- Hulk Handsome, August 23, 2011

- guttaperk, August 2, 2011

- Digibomber, July 29, 2011

- Sam Kabo Ashwell (Seattle), July 24, 2011

- LaFey (Porto, Portugal), July 16, 2011

- Ryan Veeder (Iowa), July 14, 2011

- Corwin71, July 9, 2011

- Vaughany (Devon, United Kingdom), July 6, 2011

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
A good introduction, July 6, 2011
by calindreams (Birmingham, England)
This game has been one of the first pieces of interactive I have actually got to the end of. Short and enjoyable and I'm sure most people would appreciate it more on a replay.

Maybe I would have given an extra star to my rating if I hadn't figured out the twist on the first play through. My experience of the story maybe would have been improved if (Spoiler - click to show) I hadn't been quite so thorough in my initial exploration of the appartment or that the author could have made it a little more difficult to find the key element of the story>.

Otherwise I would definitely recommend this game to people.


- dynamyte, June 29, 2011

- Nemansphere, June 27, 2011

- Shchekotiki, June 23, 2011

- flamingoboots, May 24, 2011

- Kevin Jackson-Mead (Boston), May 8, 2011

- SweetMeliisa (Michigan), May 4, 2011

- Charles Wickersham, April 27, 2011

- baywoof, April 25, 2011

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Short, funny and smart, April 13, 2011
Short, funny, and smart. Those are three words I'd use to describe this game. It's rather short, but its story is smart, makes you think a little. Definitely worth a couple of re-plays, there are multiple endings. Although very short, it remains a brilliant game with some surprises.

I highly recommend this game!

- Pure, March 29, 2011

- JasonMel (Florida), March 28, 2011

- JohnW (Brno, Czech Republic), March 16, 2011

- spinnerin (Portland, OR), March 7, 2011

- Hauston (Seattle, WA), February 16, 2011

- Aintelligence (Canada), February 8, 2011

- Melikika, February 6, 2011

- Duan Bailey, February 3, 2011

- diddlescatter (US), February 2, 2011

- Walter Sandsquish, February 2, 2011

- NoiselessPenguin (London, UK), January 27, 2011

- Magnus W (Örebro, Sweden), January 26, 2011

- Ben Cressey (Seattle, WA), January 26, 2011

- A. P. Sillers (United States, East Coast), January 19, 2011

- Callust (Michigan), January 2, 2011

- Carlo, December 26, 2010

- Niklas Larsson (Malmö, Sweden), December 19, 2010

- Bernie (Fredericksburg, VA), December 19, 2010

- S. Plumb, December 18, 2010

- Tobi Tesuji, December 16, 2010

- Hobat, December 15, 2010

- mojay, December 13, 2010

7 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
An argument for minimalism, November 27, 2010
by The Year Is Yesterday (California)
The value of 9:05 is in its perfectly spare prose.

- Narcisse, November 26, 2010

- Sylvia Storm, November 15, 2010

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
My favourite, November 14, 2010
This would have to be my favourite piece of IF ever, and not without good reason. It may be short, and pretty much devoid of puzzles, but the story is what makes this such an excellent bit of storytelling. Without giving anything away, the first playthrough appears to be a normal day, but eventually it unfolds into something more. When I first downloaded this, I played through it many times, to find all of the endings, and because of the short playing time I could try all of the possibilities.
It is a short and brilliant piece of Interactive Fiction, that nobody who has played it can forget.

- Sophronisba, November 8, 2010

- FeralPawn (Australia), October 13, 2010

- Adam Rezich, October 10, 2010

- Chris Longhurst (Oxford, UK), October 7, 2010

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
Pure, pure, gold, October 3, 2010
by Stumpy (A maze of twisty little passages, all alike (apart from the one I'm currently in))
This was the first piece of IF I've played in a good many years and I stumbled across it quite by accident.

At first, with it being so short I thought either I'd done something wrong in my playthrough, but then the whole joke dawned on me.

Even on the second (OK, and the third) playthrough there were those superb little nuggets that I'd missed previously that, had I found them, would have made the whole thing soooo obvious (but so much less enjoyable).

A short, but superb romp that made me smile throughout.

- srh (Seattle, WA), September 25, 2010

- Brian Lavelle (Edinburgh, Scotland), September 12, 2010

- Clemency Jones (England), August 26, 2010

- dixonqu (New York, NY), August 15, 2010

- Ziggybee (Italy), August 14, 2010

- Sneeze (Derby, UK), August 12, 2010

- Justin Morgan, August 8, 2010

- Celestianpower (Gloucestershire, UK), August 5, 2010

- RCooke, August 4, 2010

- Buffaloelvis, July 22, 2010

- Juleske, July 20, 2010

- karcher, July 10, 2010

- SarahTheEntwife (USA), July 6, 2010

- Sorrel, July 6, 2010

- lagran-G-an (Tel-Aviv, Israel), June 28, 2010

0 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
9:05 was a lot of fun, June 27, 2010
by Shoki (Los Angeles)
Related reviews: 9:05, Adam Cadre
I got a kick out of it. Pretty funny.
Note: this rating is not included in the game's average.

- Stickz (Atlanta, Georgia), June 22, 2010

- marlowespade, June 21, 2010

1 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Short, clever game, June 21, 2010
by ZUrlocker (Santa Cruz, CA)
Related reviews: short, easy
It's a short, clever game. Somewhat of a one-trick pony, but still fun. Can be completed in 10 minutes or less. Not a lot of puzzles or really interaction, but still kind of intriguing.

- strikemeyer (Atlanta, Georgia), June 12, 2010

- Masada, May 28, 2010

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
True Cadre Style, May 26, 2010
by tggdan3 (Michigan)
This is my 3rd Cadre game after Photopia and I-0. Loved them. I liked this, but the game is fairly short, so there isn't a lot to love. What there is, however, is gold.

Once again, he uses his ingenious writing to distract you from some of the simple things that PCs take for granted. (Spoiler - click to show) He tricked me again! I fell for it with the angel in photopia, and now again with this PC .

The game itself seems fairly straightforward, shower, get dressed, eat, go to work. It only takes a couple of minutes. Then the joke happens. Definately worth the 2nd playthrough to look for "evidence" of the reveal.

I would rate it higher if there was more to do, but as it is, it is fun and interesting.

- Yigit Akkok (Ankara, Turkey), May 17, 2010

- Mandolin (Detroit, MI), May 16, 2010

- Patrick M. McCormick (United States), May 4, 2010

- o0pyromancer0o, April 23, 2010

- Springroll (Stockholm, Sweden), April 5, 2010

- Azazel, April 2, 2010

- pearceduncan (New Zealand), March 22, 2010

- Steven (Honolulu, Hawaii), March 21, 2010

- TanRu, March 12, 2010

- A. Margo (Southern California), March 6, 2010

- realsonic (Wellington, New Zealand), March 2, 2010

- Martinellis (California), March 1, 2010

- Amy Kerns (Tucson, AZ), January 16, 2010

- Mr. Patient (Saint Paul, Minn.), January 11, 2010

- loungeman (Bilbao, Spain), January 4, 2010

- smurfas666 (Klaipeda, Lithuania), December 30, 2009

- Grey (Italy), December 25, 2009

- jflower, December 17, 2009

- four1475 (Manhattan, KS), December 13, 2009

- TempestDash (Cincinnati, Ohio), December 4, 2009

- Divide (Wroclaw, Poland), December 2, 2009

- Benjamin Wochinski (Milwaukee, WI), November 27, 2009

- futureman44203 (Ocala, Florida), November 27, 2009

- Mark Jones (Los Angeles, California), November 23, 2009

- sneJ (San Jose, California), November 15, 2009

- Carpetsmoker (Netherlands), October 18, 2009

- Ugo, October 18, 2009

- lupusrex (Seattle, WA), October 3, 2009

- Pepisolo, September 30, 2009

- finferflu (Manchester, UK), September 27, 2009

- JonathanCR, September 21, 2009

- ReddestDream (Nowhere Land), September 2, 2009

- Jimbo, August 23, 2009

- Steve Blanding (Redmond, WA), August 18, 2009

- robotmarvin, July 30, 2009

- RichCheng (London, UK), July 17, 2009

- Stephen Gilbert (Canada), July 10, 2009

- Rhian Moss (UK), July 8, 2009

- GDL (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania), July 7, 2009

- Watchman2012 (Manchester, NH), July 7, 2009

- Nicholas, June 8, 2009

- Mark V. (Madrid, Spain), June 2, 2009

- Hipster Scumbag, May 4, 2009

- Bart Oshgo, April 16, 2009

- ArtrexDenthur (Texas), March 11, 2009

- Zharradan, March 10, 2009

- robx, March 3, 2009

- MyTheory (Missouri), February 14, 2009

- bolucpap, February 12, 2009

- qwrrty (Carlisle, Massachusetts), February 10, 2009

- phcool, February 8, 2009

- albtraum, February 8, 2009

- Molly (USA), January 29, 2009

- Kritsada Piriyakitpaiboon (Ubonratchathani, Thailand), January 19, 2009

- Karl Ove Hufthammer (Bergen, Norway), January 12, 2009

- Aaron Mumaw (Appalachia), December 21, 2008

- ensoul, November 14, 2008

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Small packages, November 12, 2008
by DancesInPuddles (Wales)
Sometimes, the best things really do come in small packages. This IF is an absolute gem, a must have for your collection.
It takes only minutes to play and will have you laughing out loud (my wife must have thought I was mad). The initial playing will leave you wanting more. I promise.

- cadenza, November 10, 2008

- Linnau (Tel-Aviv, Israel), October 31, 2008

- Nathan (Utah), October 25, 2008

2 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Highly Recommended, October 15, 2008
by Dominic Delabruere (U.S.A.)
Though its simple - if effective - implementation left me with an odd feeling that something was missing or incomplete, the immersing illustration of questions of perception presented in "9:05" compels me to recommend this title to interactive fiction players at all stages. If this story is a joke, perhaps there is truth in jest.

- , October 4, 2008

- AardvarkSoup (IJmuiden), September 10, 2008

- madducks (Indianapolis, Indiana), September 8, 2008

- Genjar (Finland), August 31, 2008

- helga (Australia), August 29, 2008

- schifter (Louisville, KY), August 25, 2008

- tylluan (Vermont), August 24, 2008

- declain, August 23, 2008

- divbyzero (Boston, Massachusetts), August 19, 2008

- Katt (Michigan), August 18, 2008

- drh (New York), August 17, 2008

- thisisboots, August 14, 2008

- Maze (Rome, Italy), August 10, 2008

- NotVerySubtle, July 31, 2008

- Anders Hellerup Madsen (Copenhagen, Denmark), July 21, 2008

- Ben Treat (Maine, USA), July 11, 2008

- yandexx (Saint-Petersburg, Russia), July 3, 2008

- Lonedale (Tula, Russia), June 30, 2008

- Dave Chapeskie (Waterloo, Ontario, Canada), June 16, 2008

- Beekeeper, June 8, 2008

- Shigosei, June 6, 2008

- Krishnoid (Sunnyvale, CA), May 27, 2008

- Pavel Soukenik (Kirkland, WA), May 6, 2008

- Moses Templeton, May 3, 2008

- lobespear, April 23, 2008

- Hans Möller (Sweden), April 5, 2008

- aaronius, March 11, 2008

- Cheryl L (Australia), March 11, 2008

- jfpbookworm (Hamburg, New York), February 28, 2008

- Interference (Oxford, England), February 14, 2008

- Dan Schmidt (Boston), January 31, 2008

- Ziixxxitria (California), January 26, 2008

- Michel Nizette (Brussels, Belgium), January 17, 2008

- incandenza (carrboro, north carolina), January 17, 2008

- tfbk, January 10, 2008

- Matt Poush (Des Moines, Iowa), January 5, 2008

4 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Another Day in the Life, January 2, 2008
by Victor Gijsbers (The Netherlands)
Related reviews: short, joke
You wake up in bed, ready to go to work. Yes, just an another day in the life... but this very short game has an interesting twist at the end. Replaying is a must.

I recommend this piece, mainly because it's going to take less than 9 minutes and 5 second of your time to enjoy it. I give it only 3 stars out of 5: even a funny joke just doesn't ascend to the same heights as a great story.

- oddgrue (California), December 30, 2007

- JudgeDeadd (Warsaw, Poland), December 28, 2007

- Juhana, December 15, 2007

- Miron (Berlin, Germany), December 10, 2007

- PSilk (London, UK), November 26, 2007

- Vladimir Korablin (Voronezh, Russia), November 26, 2007

- Naeradan, November 20, 2007

- Leland Paul (Swarthmore, PA), November 19, 2007

- zer, November 13, 2007

- Kake (London, England), November 10, 2007

- Nusco (Bologna, Italy), October 31, 2007

- Stephen Bond (Leuven, Belgium), October 26, 2007

- zharris70 (New York City), October 25, 2007

- Tracy Poff (Hamlin, West Virginia, United States), October 20, 2007

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful:
Great for beginners and veterans alike, October 20, 2007
by Fredrik Ramsberg (Stockholm, Sweden)
This game is fun for IF veterans because it pokes fun at one of the most widely accepted conventions of interactive fiction. Had me laughing out loud the first time I played it, and had quite a replay value to see what happened if you chose the less obvious paths. As it happens, this is also a great game to throw at people who have never played IF. It's easy to get through, rewarding and makes most people crack a smile. And of course, it doesn't take a month to finish either. Great little piece.

- Michael R. Bacon (New Mexico), October 20, 2007

Baf's Guide


You're woken up by the telephone, having slept a lot longer than you should have, and there'll be hell to pay if you don't get out of the house in a hurry. A very short game with a devious twist that the IF theorists out there will find interesting. Gains immeasurably on replay.

-- Carl Muckenhoupt

You wrote this review - Revise it | Add a comment


Showing All | Show by Page | Return to game's main page