Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

9:05

by Adam Cadre profile

Slice of life
2000

Web Site

Return to the game's main page

Member Reviews

5 star:
(98)
4 star:
(203)
3 star:
(81)
2 star:
(14)
1 star:
(3)
Average Rating:
Number of Reviews: 38
Write a review


Previous | << 1 2 3 4 >> | Next | Show All


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Brilliant, Short, and Effective, October 16, 2017
by Angharade
Related reviews: short
The writing was clever and direct. The slight details were teases- and enjoyable even at the very beginning. I had a ton of fun with a relatively simple concept. I think this is a fantastic game to help someone understand interactive fiction, or see the appeal, without getting bogged down with too much writing or guessing the author's intentions. I really liked this. A unique jaunt in the slice of life genre.

0 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Don't bother, July 7, 2017
Very short, non-engaging, and lackluster plot that you don't get to explore

0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Short & Sweet, March 18, 2017
by RottenSnail
Related reviews: beginner, short, easy, funny, replay
This is a very short, simple game with a sense of humor. I think beginners to IF will find it very easy and rewarding. It's the kind of game where the player gains enjoyment upon replaying it, which I highly recommend. Even playing through twice, it's a very quick game.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
My first IF adventure, February 5, 2017
I found this story on a list of recommended IF for beginners. I shared it with my middle school students, and we had a good time with it. You can easily play through in 20-30 minutes, and there are at least three different endings depending on the path you take. I recommend 9:05 as a good first story to read!

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Fun, May 8, 2016
9:05 is the time you wake up, and about how long this IF takes. Being short isnt a bad thing. As others have said, it really calls for a replay. Its 10 minutes, what have you got to lose

Slice of Life... With a Twist!, April 4, 2016
by PDearmore (Central New York)
Related reviews: z-machine, infom, slice-of-life, puzzleless, crime
9:05 is essentially a puzzle-less game in which you can play through a few different ways to experience a slice of life from a few different angles. I'm not usually one to play a game through after reaching the end, but this piece is short, and replaying it seems like almost the entire point (you'll only see what I mean once you have tried it). With that being said, there's not really a satisfying ending. I kept looking for ways to "win" but there were only other paths you could take--the most interesting one being the path that you probably took in the first place.

9:05 is the first piece of IF from Adam Cadre that I can remember playing. Not that I've been purposefully avoiding his stuff--it just happens that I haven't gotten to it yet. I will definitely check out his other stuff--I see quite a few games out there.

0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Famous for toying with IF expectations. , February 3, 2016
9:05 is a game that everyone should try at some point, preferably after playing a few other IF games.

9:05 is essentially a workday simulator; you are late to work, and have to shower, eat, etc.

The game plays around a bit with IF conventions, making you question the basic ideas that are fundamental to IF.

While it's a great game, it gave me a bad feeling after I finished it for the first time. The additional material at the end of the game made me not want to identify with the protagonist.

May not be suitable for playing along with young kids. Older kids should be fine.

Entertaining short little game, January 16, 2016
by 24Fanatic (Charlotte, NC)
Interesting, quick game to play. I enjoyed it. If you haven't played this one at least once, you should.

Hook Line and Sinker!, October 23, 2015
by RickyD (South Carolina, USA)
Wonderful little game. The whole time I played it, I felt a little uneasy and kept wondering what the "catch" was. Superbly done! I've played it several times since and found three different endings, and I'm sure I've missed a few details here and there along the way.

The environment is a little sparse (though it does include a working toilet, of all things!) Commands are very basic. Unfortunately, I kept running into "Noun error" or "Command not understood" errors doing things that I thought were relatively normal. That was a little bit annoying, but not the end of the world. Once I got a feel for what you could and couldn't do, it was OK.

Absolutely worth playing, and if you do play it, you have to play it again.

Rim Shot!, May 12, 2015
by scottmbruner (alameda, california)
This game is a perfect koan of an IF that plays with all of your expectations. I've seen a lot of folks say this is perfect for an IF beginner which, considering how easy it is to navigate makes sense except that the twist is very much based on a classic IF meme (and I worry that a newcomer wouldn't quite get why it's so funny.)

I knocked it one star...because, I was disappointed in the replays after knowing what happens (I loved the initial experience, but playing it again, I was a bit disappointed).


Previous | << 1 2 3 4 >> | Next | Show All | Return to game's main page